Problems with new video card in emachines T6520

Status
Not open for further replies.

dchatell

I am new to pc building and upgrading and have hit a snafu. I have a emachines T6520. The only thing in it that is original is the motherboard/cpu and the cd drives. i wanted to upgrade from my onboard video to something better to get the load of my mobo. I am trying to install a saphire ATI Raedon HD3450. Notthing to powerful because i am not a super gamer. When i install the card it makes my computer slower than a old man getting out of a bath tub. it takes almost a half an hour for my pc to fully load. I have 2 gb of ram and prior to upgrading the card installed a 550w psu. I disabled the onboard graphics and configed the BIOS how emachine support told me to. still the pc is so slow it is useless. when i have the card in with the monitor pluged in to it, my resolutions is very low so i know it is not taking it. i installed the ATI drivers prior slotting the card. my mother board is a MS-7145 RS480 754P K8 IXP400. Please help, got my new video card in a box on a shelf doing nothing.

Usually it's a sign of the drivers not installed, but you said that you did this already.

I haven't checked if that card suits your computer, ie multiplier (8X ?)
Other than that DOA Video card

No they both are 16X PCI-E, actually the video card should automatically select

So I say faulty card (or PCI-E slot) or mounting (you need to press hard (but not too hard!)

This machine makes an excellent bargain for someone looking for a lot of CPU horsepower without spending a large amount of money. The system has a capable ATI Xpress 200 built in graphics processor which is fine for casual game playing. The hard drive is a low end Western Digital with only 2mb of buffer. Fine for day to day use, but definitely a bottleneck. With an available PCI Express 16x slot, the machine offers good upgradeability. The AMD64 3400 has plenty of power to spare.
--------------
edit:

CPU may differ