0x00000024 Ntfs.sys bulls*it

Status
Not open for further replies.

McYaballow

So I've had this problem on my hard drive for maybe 5 years now and I thought it's about time to get this fixed finally! I'm not really good with computers, so bare with me here.. Everytime I start my computer, I get the BSOD. I also tried putting the HDD into my other computer as a slave drive and I still get the BSOD. So I was reading other posts here in these forums about disabling your Ntfs.sys in order to run Chkdsk on Windows 2K but I don't know how to do that in the case of Windows XP boot disks. I vaguely remember actually reaching the point of being able to run chkdsk like 5 years ago when the problems started, but I think the report said the problem was unrecoverable or something.. I might be mistaken. It should also be pointed out that these problems started immediately when I attempted to try out a Native Instruments synth on the PC. I also got the same BSOD with OTHER Native Instruments programs on another computer, but they weren't permanent.

you can simply run chkdsk /r from the XP Recovery Console (using your XP boot disks). Click here
No luck; I tried both booting with the Windows XP CD and the boot floppy disks. For XP SP2 there were 6 of the disks. Whenever I reached the point of hitting R for recovery console, the same BSOD appears.

Please post your system information, and attach a zip of your 5 most recent minidumps.
These will be found in the minidump sub-folder of your windows folder.
Without more information we would be "shooting in a white-out at a polar bear that likely isn't even there."
Might accidentally hit something... but likely not what was intended.

When I arrived, one of the Mods welcomed me with these helpful hints (among others).
  • You should read how to post a new thread in this Guide.
  • Before posting you should read all the Posting Guidelines.
  • Many users like to post system specs in their Profile.