Solved 5 step virus removal error

jmmybttm

hello everyone, newbie here -

A quick summary, if possible, of events.
I was surfing the web w/o anti virsus software installed when i suddenly got about 12 windows opening informing me of a corrupt entry in system 32 lib.
Then i got a System Check window basically saying i have everything possible wrong with my machine, i.e. hardware, software, registry errors. Upon reboot, i got MISSING OS SYSTEM. As a last resort, i cleaned my machine, which has helped things in the past, and it was dirty. Loaded the Recovery Console, DSKCHK ran ok, no problems supposedly. I did a FIXMBR cmd which finished in a micro sec.
Surprisingly, on reboot, it saw the hard disk & loaded. My desktop was missing many items so i ran a system restore to a recent good checkpoint successfully which brought back my desktop icons. My browsers, FireFox & IE, will not start. They enter PROCESSES in task manager but leave shortly afterwards w/o doing nothing, no window opens. I loaded AVG 2012 free anti-virsus and did a whole computer scan. That software removed 18 items to the Virsus Vault. Here is a sysnopsis of that run which i did before coming here.

AVG 2012 anti-virsus, free edition, whole computer scan follows...

======================= infections follow ==================
"";"C:\System Volume Information\_restore{6995F97A-0C11-46E7-AD16-F4EBACBCE82E}\RP346\A0199282.exe";"May be infected by unknown virus Win32/DH.00000000{00040001-00000035-00000000}";"Moved to Virus Vault"
"";"C:\System Volume Information\_restore{6995F97A-0C11-46E7-AD16-F4EBACBCE82E}\RP346\A0199157.exe";"Trojan horse Generic_r.AHC";"Moved to Virus Vault"
"";"C:\System Volume Information\_restore{6995F97A-0C11-46E7-AD16-F4EBACBCE82E}\RP346\A0199103.exe";"Trojan horse Generic_r.AHK";"Moved to Virus Vault"
"";"C:\System Volume Information\_restore{6995F97A-0C11-46E7-AD16-F4EBACBCE82E}\RP345\A0198012.exe";"Trojan horse Generic_r.AHC";"Moved to Virus Vault"