50 Years of Video Games

I was born in 1976 and I started playing on an Atari 2600 in about 1980. I am constantly amazed at the progress I have witnessed in gaming and the incredibly increases in computing performance in that time.

I'm sure there are plenty for folk here who are of similar age and have also seen this.

I feel like the big advances that we used to get are smaller now, A game 10 years ago still looks good to me and even with the side by side comparisons I sometimes struggle to see the improvements in new tech these days.

Wonder what the next big thing will be :)

Secret of Mana - probably my most favorite game on the SNES. I tried playing it on an emulator some years ago (but it didn't think it played well with mouse/keyboard so I gave it up) even thought about maybe picking up the remastered copy, but I'd rather not tint the rosy glasses I have for the original.

Secret of Evermore was decent, but not as good as Mana.

I was born in 1976 and I started playing on an Atari 2600 in about 1980. I am constantly amazed at the progress I have witnessed in gaming and the incredibly increases in computing performance in that time.

I'm sure there are plenty for folk here who are of similar age and have also seen this.

I feel like the big advances that we used to get are smaller now, A game 10 years ago still looks good to me and even with the side by side comparisons I sometimes struggle to see the improvements in new tech these days.

Wonder what the next big thing will be :)

It's RT and frame generation! Nvidia has it cornered. They're the best! RT! RT! RT! RT! /s