5400rpm vs 7200rpm HDDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snowy Commando

Besides the obvious that most people use the latter which are faster for running applications.

Would it make sense to have a secondary storage drive as a slower 5400rpm?

i'm interested in the difference in spindle whining noise and with 2 HDDs in a case it might make more sense to keep the whining noise down to minimal.

These are the stats for WD Caviar 120GB

5400 rpm:
Idle Mode - 34 dBA (average)
Seek Mode 0 - 37 dBA (average)
Seek Mode 3 - 34 dBA (average)

7200 rpm:
Idle Mode - 35 dBA (average)
Seek Mode 0 - 39 dBA (average)
Seek Mode 3 - 37 dBA (average)

I'm no audio expert, so I won't try to draw any conclusions from these. Maybe someone smarter will.

Well i do know that ~28dB is average room levels and from those stats i can only conclude that the 5400rpm is still quieter by 1 dB at full seek mode then 7200rpm at idle.

I've got one of those WD 80Gb 7,200rpm drives and i don't even hear any noise from the drive... Silent as a errrm flea??

Those DBA ratings are WAY off from WD. The hard disk, being in your case, is quite inaudible. It is the quietest hard disk I've ever heard.

I have both a 5200RPM 120gb and a 7200RPM 80gb.. I actually think the 5200RPM drive has a higher "idle" noise than the 7200RPM, although both drives are super quiet while seeking.

The performance boost is worth it.

Do new hard drives even make much noise? I have 2 IBM deskstars, and a maxtor and all 3 are 7200rpm and I can't normally hear them seek. But my roommate has an old P3 Gateway and I can hear that thing thinking across the room.

I believe faster HDD are getting quiter...i can;t hear anything when my 80GB WD Caviar 7200rpm seeks...but what 's really annnoying is that when my 1.5 GB WD Caviar seeks, its pretty noisy with the screeching sound

My WD800JB is absolutely silent. I cannot hear it at all.
If you have any fans on your computer, there's no way you'll hear it.