A $10,000.00 Graphics Nightmare! Please Help***

Status
Not open for further replies.
A $10,000.00 Graphics Nightmare!

I have been building and working on a computer for close to 9 months now, and I’m am at the point of no return. I purchased 3 video cards so far in the $800.00 range and was force to send each of them back due to incompatibility. I have tried to work with many local computer companies but they do not want to work on such a high dollar machine. So far I have close to $10,000.00 in the machine, not including software. I would appreciate any SOLID advice, due to the fact that it is not available locally.

Motherboard: Supermicro X6DH8-G2

Operating System: Windows X-64 ( note: It is the only OS that will work, I tried 5 other OS packages before I found that this system would work.)

Specification
• Mfr Part Number: X6DH8-G2
• CPU: Support Dual Xeon With 1M/L2 Cache Up To 3.6GHz; FSB 800MHz
• Chipset: Intel E7520 Chipset
• Memory: 8*DIMMs Support ECC/Registered DDRII 400 Upto 16GB(Pair Use)
I currently am operating with 8 GB of ram.
• SATA/SCSI: 2*SATA(ICH5R) Support RAID 0,1; Adaptec Dual-ch Ultra320 SCSI
• RAID: Support Adaptec SCSI RAID 2010S(Card Not Included)
• Video: ATI Rage XL 8MB PCI Graphics Controller
• Slot: 2*PCI-Express X8, 1*PCI-Express X4, 1*PCI-X/133MHz, 2*PCI-X/100MHz
• LAN: Dual Intel 82546GB Gigabit Ethernet Controller
• IPMI2.0 Socket For Server Management
• Form Factor: EATX
I would like to utilize the NVIDIA SLI upgrade for the two 2*PCI-Express X8 slots. I work with CAD & Maya, but to date I have not been able to use the computer due to limited graphic processing power on the motherboard. I also have plans to purchase a 50 inch plasma monitor ( Panasonic PT-50PD3-P HDTV Monitor) to go with this system.)