A little OC help - AMD X2 4400+ Toledo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danstar10

Hello all,

Im in need of a little assistance. Im basically trying to OC an AMD X2 4400+ Toledo to around 2.4 (tho 2.6 would be nice).

I have no prior experience of OCing a CPU however i have built up my computer a fair bit and am generally good with computers so im no noob.

As stock my cpu cores run at around 30c idle and max 51c full load - when put under the small FFTs 'torture test' of Prime95.

I have had a 'quick' OC try and upped the CPU freq from 200 to 210 in BIOS (it appeared not to boot at any higher) which gave me around 2.3Ghz i think, and added a couple of degrees to the max load temp maxing at 53c ish.

My question is how would you seasoned OC'ers go about getting a little more from this old chap of a CPU. Should i increase the voltage? as i have heard this gives a minimal benifit for the risk it poses to the hardware.

I dont seem to have access to the 'HT multiplier' in the BIOS (the one which is 5x by default) but i think i have access to the CPU multiplier (listed as 'K8 CPU clock ratio' in the BIOS)

My motherboard is a 'GIGABYTE Nvidia Nforce 4 SLI the model is GA-K8N Pro-SLI' and i have 2x 1GB pc3200 RAM

think that is all you need to know for this, and i have uploaded a pic of CPUz showing no OC readings and the menus I get in my BIOS.

Id be happy to use some software to OC if any can be reccomended?

Also, any ideas how i can access my CPU fan speed so i could keep it cooler under load as i dont seem to be able to find how.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Dan

My question is how would you seasoned OC'ers go about getting a little more from this old chap of a CPU. Should i increase the voltage? as i have heard this gives a minimal benifit for the risk it poses to the hardware.
Not until your processor becomes unstable.