A problem I can't fix, need a VGA supergenius!

baronmax

Hello. I have run across the first computer problem that I cannot fix. I've been building computers for 10 years, and in that time I've dealt with almost every problem imaginable, both hardware and software, but this one has me stumped.

I have a video card here (Gigabyte [nvidia] 8800 GTS, 320mb) that has stopped working. It was working perfectly one day, then the next day I woke up and there was nothing. I tried turning my computer on and all the lights and fans came on for about 1 second, then turned back off. I started by taking all unnecessary items off the board, so that it was just CPU (heatsink/fan), VGA card, hard drive and keyboard/mouse. Same thing. At this point, I was thinking PSU issue, so I went and got another PSU, hooked it up to the motherboard, double checked connections, and the same thing happened (lights for a second, then back off). So I went and grabbed another video card (8600 GT), put it in and it worked flawlessly. I put the computer back together, leaving the 8600 GT in place and it ran fine for a long time. Recently I built another new computer, so I figured I'd give the 8800GTS another try with a different motherboard/psu/CPU combo, but the same thing happened... system kicked on for a second, then back off. So I took the vga out of the pci-e slot and hooked it up to a power supply by itself to see if the fans/lights would work, I jumped the power supply and the same thing happened... the psu fired up for a second, then kicked itself back off, even though it was hooked up to the 8800GTS by the 6-pin connector (which, on a normal card, would have caused the fans to spin up on the GPU).

So I searched frantically for anyone else having this problem and found nothing really like it. I saw a lot of people who had obvious PSU, CPU, motherboard or other hardware/software issues, but none that were similar to my own problem.