Advice re: recording software

Dawn1113

[FONT=Arial]I want to try multi-track recording with my PC, possibly using my old Fostex four-track recorder as a kind of intermediate platform.[/FONT][FONT=Arial] [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial]Can you guys recommend software that would allow me to record multi-track demos, maybe even add effects to my instrument tracks as I go along? [/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][/FONT][FONT=Arial]I'd prefer something with a simple, noob-friendly interface.[/FONT][FONT=Arial] [/FONT][FONT=Arial]Nothing too complicated as I have no experience using this kind of software.[/FONT][FONT=Arial] [/FONT]
[FONT=Arial] [/FONT]
[FONT=Arial]Thanks in advance for your advice.[/FONT]

Hi, I use Audacity, which is very professional, but can be tricky to learn from scratch, but I think this one is slightly easier to use;
http://www.free-audio-editor.com/
They give similar results, and both are worthwhile learning, the only problems I have had before (with both) was in connecting the audio source to the pc, and to get the program to record from it.
A sound card with line-in connections is a good idea, but I have had results using the pc's front panel 'mic' socket, as long as the level is kept low.

Hey, thanks, guys! These look excellent. I'm going to take a look at Audacity, first, and then check Free Audio Editor if I have trouble learning how to use the former. I've checked the links and these apps look to be precisely the kind I had in mind.

This'll be great! I'm excited to bounce a few tracks around already. Probably spend the weekend learning the stuff -- which is always fun.

Again, thanks guys.

Another vote for Audacity here. :)

Yes, Audacity works for me, and you might also like a look here - www.soundonsound.com/sos/feb03/articles/linuxaudio.asp Cubase is truly excellent if you have some money to spare (does everything, you can learn as little as you need or spend the rest of your life at it!)