AGP issues.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Malevolent

I am having issues getting my ATI Radeon 9600 xt to run at 8x using my AGP. I have a GIGABYTE K8NS Pro motherboard and in the BIOS i made sure i set the AGP to 8X. Im using the Catalyst Contol Center software to change the AGP but it asks me to restart when i adjust the settings and when its done it Automaticly defaults to 0x. I went to the ATI site to update my drivers but it didnt help any. In the Catalyst Control center under the system info it shows that the AGP is off and i cannot figure out how to turn it on. I tried going into the device manager under system devices to see if i need to update the driver for the AGP but i cant find anything with AGP in there. This is the 1st computer i built and im still a little new at this. Any feedback would be much appriciated.

ATI Catalysts Control Center
System Info:

Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
Graphics Chipset RADEON 9600 SERIES
Device ID 4152
Vendor 1002

Subsystem ID 7C29
Subsystem Vendor ID 174B

Bus Type AGP
Current Bus Setting AGP Off

BIOS Version 008.017D.016.00
BIOS Part Number BK-ATI VER008.017D.016.000
BIOS Date 2004/05/08

Memory Size 128 MB
Memory Type DDR SGRAM / SDRAM

Core Clock in MHz 500 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz 297 MHz

Primary Display Yes

See if theres an updated BIOS for the motherboard. Also right click on the desktop and select Properties-Settings-Advanced and the AGP settings are there. There were some major issues with the 9600 cards and nForce 2 chipsets and it may be carried over to nForce 3.

try this maybe!