AMD or Intel:

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know this is a heated topic. But I would like to hear some opinions on Pros and cons of both AMD and Intel.

I want to build my own comp, and I want to use my comp for both Heavy Gaming and for using Applications such as Autocad, Utiliboard, Electronics Workbench and Photoshop. I use all those tihngs I'm studying to be an Electrical Drafter. I need to know which can handle these things best.

So :bounce: .... which of the two is better for this sort of application?

the amd athlon 64 fx series are the fastest chips out there for gaming.
otherwise a cutting edge pentium 4 would be a better choice, particularly for the apps you mentioned.
everyone here has got something to say on the subject and you'll get much more than this quick post.
as for the AMD only guys who refer to intel as 'overpriced' and 'crap', let's just say that they're throwing rocks from a glass house.

How about a Pentium 4 Extremely Expensive? :)

I'd go for P4 in your case. You'll know what I mean if you ever encode video/audio.

Making the Choice

I had been shopping for AMD CPUs & boards because My current computer was a pre built AMD k6-2 system and had lasted me 5 years (although it was slower than most when I got it and is currently suffering from alzheimer's), and It outlasted my cousins' gateways and compaqs...
I guess i'm going to go for P4 then if it's really best for those Apps. I'm sure it can handle some games too. Maybe go for 3.2 Ghz (best price:speed ratio). I guess I'll have to pick a new MoBo too.... I liked it too... Asus A8N SLI deluxe yummy stuff

definatly go for intel, until the windows 64 bit edition is out and free of the thousands of problems it has is when amd will be good with their 64 bit chips, otherwise intel is the better. the new 755 locket 3.2 ghz chip is in the low $200's at newegg.

AMD vs Intel Continued...