Are there reliable programs for cleaning your registry?

beauty

I was reading about how uninstalling programs does not mean the registry is cleared of entries that are no longer needed and about how this can slow down your machine.

Are there any reliable programs that can identify and delete the unnecessary entries?

I don't mind buying one as long as it would be effective and not mess up my machine.

Thanks!

sorry,
Backup registry first, open regedit and export entire to My documents.
Then read directions on CC Cleaner carefully and start small the first time.
I have never had an issue but it can happen.

I can second CCleaner. I have been using it, without issue, for at least 3 years now.

When you run the cleaner is actually gives you the ability to backup your registry file, just make sure you do.

This is a constantly recurring subject and there are innumerous threads dealing with it in this section alone. One of the reasons it keeps reappearing, apart from lack of searching, is that there is no unanimity on the matter, but just people’s opinions, sometimes informed, sometimes entirely subjective or induced by ads.

For your benefit as you are a newcomer, I repeat my previously expressed opinion, formed after considering the evidence:

1 To do proper registry cleaning, you have to do it manually. For that, you need expert knowledge not only of the registry itself but also of the particular app involved
2 Automatic registry cleaners are of any real use only in the rarest of cases
3 At the same time, they can cause trouble, the probability for which is much higher than that of any expected gains
4 Registry debris doesn’t cause problems, because the system only loads what is actually being used
5 Registry backups only help partially, since the problem may manifest itself at a much later point.