TechSpot

Asus a7n8x BIOS settings PLEASE!!

By ramoneo
Dec 22, 2003
  1. SO with 1gig Corsair PC3700 DDR Memory in the Asus a7n8x deluxe Mobo, Athlon XP 2400 CPU, with a great thermalright 800 heatsink- I currently have:
    CPU Ext Freq: 166Mhz
    CPU Freq Multiplier: 13x
    Memory Freq: 100%
    CPU Interface: Optimal
    Resulting Freq: 166Mhz
    CPU VCore: 1.750V
    this produces 36C/96F temp..
    I am new to BIOS/overclocking but I heard that I can take advantage the awesome 1gig memory that I have. Could anyone help me tweak my system.

2. tripleione

tripleione TS Rookie Posts: 181

Take a look at this thread before doing anything else.

Explaining step-by-step how to overclock would easily take a few hours to type without even going extremely indepth of the subject.

Luckily for you, there are hundreds of overclocking resources available for you to read on the web. Do a search from google, or even take a look at TechSpot's own overclocking guide.

3. Steg

Steg TS Rookie Posts: 422

you have some SERIOUSLY fast ram there - i wish my ram could do that - but you are limited in your overclocking by your CPU - anything under a 2500+ (i.e the palamino/throughbread a cores) is very difficult to overclock - im getting at 2500+ myself just so i can overclock it
    the 2400+ is very hard to overclock simply because the 2400+ is the FASTEST they could get that core to go - thus it doesnt overclock very well.
    if you want my recommendation buy urself a 2500+ for £60 and sell your 2400+ on ebay or similar for about £40 - problem solved.
    *stops in his tracks* you 2400 has a 166 FSB? i thought the 2400+ were the last of the 133 FSB range...? are you sure? odd. *is now confused* :mad:
    i hope something in that ramble helps

Steg

4. tripleione

tripleione TS Rookie Posts: 181

Not necessarily. AMD started using the Thoroughbred "B" cores in their XP1700+ and up a long while ago. Most AthlonXPs are now based on the Thoroughbred "B" or Barton core.