also @ TechSpot: Tea Party Republicans and 'liberal weenies' alike celebrate Texas email privacy law

ATI.COM

Discussion in 'Site Feedback and Suggestions' started by LNCPapa, May 28, 2012.

Post New Reply
  1. LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 3,974   +125

    Has AMD disabled ATI.com or is it just down for now? Might be worth a short story if it's gone for good.

    -LNCPapa
  2. mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 7,943   +90

    If I type ati.com, it automatically redirects to amd.com. Is that what you are seeing? I'm using FF 12.0
  3. cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,634   +389

    I'm getting a redirect with Opera 11.64 as well.

    Edit:
    I wonder if this is a side effect of AMD dropping the ATI logo?
  4. LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 3,974   +125

    Nope - not what I'm seeing so nvm :)
  5. Marnomancer TechSpot Booster Posts: 801   +46

    Yeah, AMD assimilated ATI a long time ago. Visiting ati.com should automatically redirect to amd.com.
  6. LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 3,974   +125

    I'm just getting a failed redirect which is why I brought this up. It usually redirects for me but it hasn't been since yesterday.
     
  7. slh28 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,701   +111

    Why do you keep typing in ati.com anyway? :p

    I get a HTTP 400 bad request, using IE7
  8. Marnomancer TechSpot Booster Posts: 801   +46

    Hmm...redirect prevention add-on, or a setting?
    Half the time I'm getting a redirect to amd.com, the other half a DNS lookup failure.
  9. josh7143 Newcomer, in training

    I, too, was curious why AMD would have taken down the ATI web site... I generally type the site (I.e. 'ATI') and press CTRL+Enter in the address bar, which adds the leading 'http://www.' and trailing '.com'. That being said, the reason for the occasional failed redirect is due to a misconfiguration on AMD's part.

    Notice, if you type ati.com (no 'www'), it will 302 redirect to http://ati.amd.com/
    However, if you type www.ati.com, you will receive an HTTP/1.0 400 Bad Request...
    More specifically:
    ---response begin---
    HTTP/1.0 400 Bad Request
    Server: AkamaiGHost
    Mime-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/html
    Content-Length: 193
    Expires: Mon, 23 Jul 2012 08:23:08 GMT
    Date: Mon, 23 Jul 2012 08:23:08 GMT
    Connection: close
    ---response end---

    This likely was due to a load-balancing configuration, with some traffic hitting Akamai, when ATI had much more traffic. It's difficult to tell what server is misconfigured, or if Akamai simply didn't receive payment for services :).

    Hope this eases someone else's curious mind .... At least it's [probably] not browser hijacking!
    --Josh