Autochk program not found

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bound33

Not entirely sure how it happened, but after a restart my computer gave me this error after the WIndows splash, it then restarts and goes into a loop. Unable to find a solution and i have looked what feels like nearly everywhere.

Operating system : xp.

And by looking around i ment like..for a solution.i looked at a bunch of sites but couldent find any solutions for my specific problem

i was only (half) kidding when i asked where you looked...

tho surfing for answers online is an art well worth developing over time (and i'm not suggesting i'm an artist. at it but is just a skill that can always be improved). It includes..
  • learning the search engine options by looking in its help guide and playing with them sometime to narrow your search results knowing ahead of time what;s there
  • similar is also experimenting to learn the right types of keywords that help give you better results

That said.... here's microsoft kb more appropriate to your specific problem

ooops... actually, let me take foot slightly out of mouth as i notice that kb is a bit older...

so let me ask
1. Do you have a recovery CD that came w/your computer?
2. Over last couple years, the manufacturer's got cheap and dont' send the CDs with new computers but instead install recovery partition on the drive (may be hidden so you don't normally see it)
3. Typically, to get into it, as soon as you power on and machine starts booting start tapping the F11 key and you should get to the recovery prompt

So u have a CD? And what make/model computer is it?

Unfortunetly i do not have a Recovery CD..which i new would couse problems from the start,,and following your instructions i was unable to use the recovery function without it wanting a cd.