Belkin 54g wireless not working in windows xp pro

Status
Not open for further replies.
I guess the title says it all.I installed win xp pro 1 hour ago.I went into gpedit.msc changed somethings as i was installing the driver i though was gonna work (driver 3) from belkin driver support I burned to **** along with 3 others just in case.anyway i locked myself out of pretty much all the settigns.booted to safe mode and changed everything back the way it was now I can access windows tabs and files.but still the driver or the belkin 54 g usb windows xp pro says unknown hardware.ANY way you can let me know what I need to do besides spend money on new modem?the link to the right driver or something i need to changein xp pro.this is my first time on pro so i'm not real sure whats new.

yes... i think you're seeing another manifestation of a little known problem that i never realized until recently between xp sp2 and USB 2.0 (never seen it on my computer but found it looking at a friend's machine and then have seen some suspicious/symptomatic problems on TechSpot - like yours).

i know u've tried everything else.. so just give this a shot and please report back yea or nay. I'm taking a guess here and want to know myself.

• Power down your computer.
  • Disconnect every USB device (including any usb keyboard/mouse)
  • Disconnect every other external device cables.
  • Physically unplug all power cords to your computer from power sources/plugs
  • Wait at least an hour
  • Hook it all up and give it a shot. Your computer start recognizing USB devices again?

/****** Edit *******/
By the way, to be clear, that means unplugging every power cord to every device on your system