Black screen when installing new video card

Tait

Hi,

Ive just built my first PC and I'm trying to install a new graphics card. The motherboard I have is a Gigabyte AMD 880G GA-880GM-UD2H with a built in graphics card which works perfectly fine when I load it up. However, I plan to use my PC for some gaming so I decided to buy a XFX Radeon 5850 1GB Graphics Card.

The trouble is when I fit this into my PCI-e slot and go to turn on my PC the screen stays black, I see absolutely nothing and there is no signal to my monitor. Everything powers up and all the fans start working including the one on the graphics card. Ive changed the BIOS so it boots video from the PCI over the on board graphics as well. I've tried researching online all I can but to no avail. Like I said this is my first build so I'm fairly new to all this and I have no idea what else I can do. I'd be extremely grateful to anyone who could help me with this, I'm pulling my hair out trying to get it working. Might my graphics card be faulty?

Hi, i think is just some power issue to the card, or fine you may have changed to pci, but would suggest that you put it into AUTO mode so that the system can select the default display of its own, the other would be to make sure that the card is working fine, is it tested to meet standards or it those fake chinese cards, i would try it in another computer to be sure that its not bad.
Try all you can think off...