Blank screen after boot up ... after new ram installation...

Status
Not open for further replies.

brianinlfc

Hello guys,
I'm a newbie here..I seem to have this problem with my computer...
it seems to have a blank screen after I install new Ram, the screen remains blank on boot up. It dosent even load bios or show the XFX logo. I am trying to up grade it form 2gb to 4 gb.
Here are my system specs.

Motherboard : XFX 680i Lite
CPU : Intel Pentium Dual Core @3.0Ghz
O/S : Windows XP SP2 /W media center edition
Ram : 2 GB OCZ Sli ready 6400 DDR2 (I got the exact same thing to upgrade)
ViD : GeForce 8800 GTS
Power Supply: 650watts SLi Ready.

I assembled these my self ... so if any one could help me out on this ...thank you very much.
Brian.

When you remove the new RAM does it boot okay?

If you remove your old RAM and install the new RAM does it boot okay?

I don't think that is the problem, but in order to fully utilize 4GB of RAM you would need a 64 bit operating system

and if all the sticks work but not together that eliminates faulty ram

with 4 GB installed can you enter bios?

Great thanks. just a quick question. 32 bit and 64 bits what are the differences? And is that the reason why my computer does not boot up. It does not even goes to the xfx mobo start up spalsh page...just wondering cos if windows was the problem would it not just freeze or be blank after the windows loading screen?

could u have possibly put the mem. in the slot backwards? I did that once and it did exactly as your's is doing. We all learn by mistakes.

I dont think it would fit backwards..there's a bump in the middle..so it kinda prevents me from inserting it the wrong way.

I am going to bed, see my post above and also you should let everyone know if you have adjusted any timings or voltages

Heretic......! Yo, That Would Be Me.....