TechSpot

Blue Screen...then turns off randomly

By link1993120
Jan 2, 2008
  1. Hiyah. About a week ago my computer randomly has been starting to turn off and flashing a blue screen. I've attatched a couple mini dumps, so maybe you could help me figure this out through those.

    HP Pavilion Laptop.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Have you recently added any new hardware or even a manual driver update

    Have you installed any new programs
     
  3. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    Well, I installed a usb driver and updated my virus program. But, once I started getting the errors I quickly unintalled both of these because this isnt the first time dealing with these blue screens which was about a year ago.

    So, I hope that helped any. =]
     
  4. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    This may be a candidate for Windows Sytem Restore
    But I am concerned about the computer restarting (especially if doing a system restore)

    If you operate the computer in Safe mode does it stay alive ?
    If so you could commence a System restore in Safe mode
     
  5. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    Hmm, I suppose I could perform a system restore. However, is this the only route I can take on fixing this. Last time this happened it was my hard drive failing, but I hope it's not happening again. Are the minidumps saying any kind of drivers not working right?
     
  6. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    I just got 2 new blue screens. One of them said something like

    Fatal error: c000021a
     
  7. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

  8. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    It stays alive in safe mode, and I'm now on a different computer while my laptop is performing a System Restore in safe mode.
     
  9. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Well done
    Pro-Active

    It'll work (positive thinking required!)
    :)
     
  10. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    It happened again after i did a system restore. =[ Idk what to do.
     
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    The system dump really doesn't show much
    The only thing in there is possible un-install your sound drivers, then re-install from the original Cd or manufacturer

    This can be the case as sound is not active in Safe mode
     
  12. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    So its not my hard drive? Do you recommend a reformat of my hard drive then reinstall the drivers that came with my computer?
     
  13. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

  14. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    whats the startup cpl thing for.
     
  15. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    If Safe mode works then it must be one of those Normal mode Startup devices
    Possible even your sound driver
    You can safely disable all as this is reversable
    Then restart and test again

    Also pls stop messaging me, I know you have replied straight away, but I may be on other things; or working out a way to help you
    Or away !
     
  16. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    Mmmkay sorry. So uhm, I reinstalled the cd drivers for my pc. Then I unticked all those checks in the startup. Fine so far...
     
  17. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    Dang. Another blue screen just now.
     
  18. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Doh !

    Coming down to hardware or re-install

    I may leave this for others comments (if they decide to read all of it)

    And I just made 100 WooHoo!
     
  19. boon1234

    boon1234 TS Rookie

    blue screen of death

    hi there my name is Richard,
    i play world of warcraft, but when i go to load my character up i get the blue screen of death.
    now, i have researched into it by going to manage and computer management and even viewer.
    this is what i have found out and gathered information on.

    Error code 100000d1, parameter1 00000010, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 f74358a7.


    i have recently updated all of my drivers including:
    network card
    graphics card
    motherboard
    sound card

    i no a few things about computers but this is far advanced to figure out.
    perhaps if i send you my minidump, could u please look at it and tell me what is wrong with my computer and world of warcraft?

    here is the link to my minidump
    perhaps 1 of you could take a look please i would appreciate it.

    box.net/shared/ddd0ffrc4g
     
  20. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Hi boon1234 and welcome to TechSpot

    Sadly I cannot answer your question here
    You will need to post a new thread with your problem details
    Please go to Here then select the forum which best matches your fault condition.
    Someone will reply back (hopefully) with support for you
     
  21. link1993120

    link1993120 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 45

    New minidumps. Thanks for the help.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...