Boosting FPS in WoW

Status
Not open for further replies.
First off, let me state, I am a total tech-tard. So finding this site is a godsend :D Anyways, this isn't an introduction, that's something I'll do after, I have a question!

So, I just got a new computer, and it's great except in one aspect: WoW has quite horrid FPS outdoors (it's fine in doors, though). When I say horrid, I mean outside it averages about 15 FPS. For me, accpetable is 23-25 FPS and awesome is 35 FPS. My goal is to make the game run at least 35 FPS at all times.

I've been asking around and I've seen a few different options come up and I'm wondering if some pros here can give me their opinion and/or other options.

1) Increase ram. I have 1 gig of ram currently, one of my buds says that if I already have 1 gig adding more won't help (although you can never have to much ram! :D) and another person said that 2 gigs can make a huge difference over 1 gig. What are your thoughts? I'm planning to buy an extra gig anyways, but do you think this will help?

2) Graphics card update. This is, without a doubt, the weakest part of my computer. I have a NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE. Old indeed. The thing I'm wondering is that since the game is not laggy, a.k.a. everything runs in the correct time (mounting, crafting items, etc.) it just looks choppier, is that something the graphics card is responsible for? And if so will something like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150157&ATT=14-150-157&CMP=OTC-pr1c3watch bring it up to my 35+ FPS?
3) Dual Core Processor: If I traded in for a model with dual core processing, would that help? I've been reading up on Dual Core's and it seems that since most games arn't built for Dual Core, they won't help out that much :p

Here are some more specifics or my machine, from CPUz

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3800+
Processor Codename: Orleans
Core Speed: 1001.1 MHz
Multiplier: x5.0
Bus speed: 200.2 MHz
L2 Cache: 512 KBytes

Memory
Type: DDR2
Size: 1024 MBytes