TechSpot

Boot Failure in Win XP

By ryanlamb2005
Mar 4, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi there

    A friend has asked me to have a look at their laptop while they are away for the weekend, saying that they have been unable to boot up windows and get a series of messages that read as follows after the memory check is performed at the started:-



    Searching for Boot Record from CD/DVD.. Not Found
    Searching for Boot Record from BBS-0: [Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build 082) ] OK

    Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build 082)
    Copyright (C) 1997-2000 Intel Corporation

    SiS900 PXE BootROM v.109 Hook Int19

    Client MAC ADDR: 00 50 EB 1E 1E 3B GUID: 11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111 PXE-E51: No DHCP or proxyDHCP offers were recieved

    PXE-MOF: Exiting Intel PXE ROM

    Searching for Boot Record from SCSI.. Not Found

    Boot Failure
    Reboot and Select proper Boot device
    or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device
    Press any key when ready



    I don't have the original XP Cd with me, are there any I can download and burn to CD to use to try and sort this out as I have no idea what I'm doing really, any help would be much appreciated
  2. luvr

    luvr TS Rookie Posts: 74

    Looks to me like the computer is not set up to boot from its harddisk, but attempts to boot from the network instead.

    You'll have to verify the boot device sequence in its BIOS setup, and make sure that the harddisk is selected as one of the boot devices; you will likely want to specify the CD/DVD drive as the first, and the harddisk as the second boot device.
  3. Liquidlen

    Liquidlen TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,646

    Welcome to Techspot -Ryan...

    Go to this site there are some great Free utilities you can get to repair Windows .
    http://www.sysinternals.com/
    Have fun!
  4. ryanlamb2005

    ryanlamb2005 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ive tried the site provided but that had nothing to suit what i need tried playing about with bios but hard drive doesnot appear as an option only 1-46 and CD/ROM
  5. Mictlantecuhtli

    Mictlantecuhtli TS Evangelist Posts: 4,916   +9

    Looks a bit like the hard disk drive doesn't work, or its connectors are loose.
  6. juggawest

    juggawest TS Rookie

    onscreen as I boot up

    Intel UNDi, PXE-2.0 (build 082)
    Copyright (C) 1997-2000 Intel Corporation

    SiS900 PXE BootROM v1.09 Hook Int19



    when I hold F8 for bios it gives me "Select First Boot Device

    CD/DVD : QSI CD-RW/DVD-ROM SBW-161
    BBS-0 : Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build082)

    [Up/Dn] Select [Return] Boot [ESC] Cancel


    I running (or was running) Windows Xp Home Edition
    Pentium 4 on a Winbook J4 laptop no Windows XP cd that comes with it
    just Windows XP for an Acer laptop feel free 2 email your suggestions. (tried the link posted on an above post can't find anything important, or anything I can understand)
  7. IronDuke

    IronDuke TS Rookie Posts: 1,267

    You need to enter the bios. You should see a mesage after POST saying Press key (often Del) to enter setup. There you will be able to change your boot order. To somethiong like C:\; CD-Rom; Floppy. You don't want BBS-0 : Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build082) unless you need to boot from a network.
  8. Liquidlen

    Liquidlen TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,646

    Portables usually have a small partition at the begininng of the HDD that is used to boot the computer ,these things are for proprietary drvers and programs ,I am wondering if yours is corrupt /bad sectors
    Does your bios recognize a HDD at all ?If it does you might need to update the file for your machine It will come in a form of a Flash file from the manufacturer,just check their web for your machine's make and model.
    If your bios is not seeing the HDD you may have a bad drve and need to replace.
  9. Luna M

    Luna M TS Rookie Posts: 30

    I'm having this exact same problem. If someone has a solution, please let me know...
  10. Gwass

    Gwass TS Rookie


    Intead of usig F8 try using F2 as F8 usually brings up the safe mode, debuging and restore options.

    F2 should take you directly into the bios from here you can reset your boot options.
  11. smore9648

    smore9648 TS Rookie Posts: 757

    Its sounds like your cd rom is set to boot first and your hdd drive is set to last in the BIOS.

    Once you figure outt how to get into BIOS and your change the BOOT priority then, you shouldn't have a problem as long as your HDD is not corrupt and recongnized
     
  12. SoCalPaul

    SoCalPaul TS Rookie

    Boot Problem Solved for me

    I have the exact problem everytime my computer battery goes dead while I am working. The solution for me was to put a SD card in my memory slot (blank or with anything on it) and then it boots up. Once I put in a memory card computer boots but without it there is no way I have found to get it to boot.
  13. Luna M

    Luna M TS Rookie Posts: 30

    In my case it turned out to be the hard drive had gone bad. Since the computer could not access the hard drive, it was attempting to boot from a [nonexistent] network.

    Might be worth it to check your hard drive.
  14. sv_12

    sv_12 TS Rookie

    May be harddisk corrupted not getting detected check in the bios
  15. madman54

    madman54 TS Rookie

    I dont know if any one has found a solution to this problem yet, But I am Having the exact same trouble on my notebook....

    After all the troubleshooting ive done, this is what i've come up with.

    I've tried everything i can think of... I put in my utillities cd, and i did manage to find something that was being read as "2nd Floppy drive" but it was in LBA mode?? Bios does not see the hard drive at all, even after i spent a good chunk of change to get a new one....

    so what does this mean? Is my bios Corrupted?

    PLEEEEAAASE HELP!!

    anything at all would help... thanks
  16. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    Help!!!!I really need help with this SIS900 PXE BootROM V1.09 Hook!!!! So plz help!!

    When I opened up my laptop on April the 9th, it's full stuffed up and there's this thing where it says - SiS900 PXE BootROM V1.09 HOOK.....(and some other stuff which i don't remember), I used this windows xp disc and set it up again, then everything's alright, but the next day when i opened the computer again it just stuffed up again like yesterday( what the hell ????), then i have to repair it again, and then the next day which is today, it happened again!!! i tried to repair it again but all it would do is keep on do the process of repairing over and over again and it would work. about 3:00 it worked again maybe 'cause of luck.

    What is all this???

    Can someone pllllllllllllllllllllllzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me??????:p
  17. Gwass

    Gwass TS Rookie

    this sounds like its a hard disk error not a software issue. you usually get this message when the CMOS can not detect a hard drive how old is your PC?
  18. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    Thanks so much if u can help

    its around three years old, thnx so much if u can help
  19. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    u need this disc

    to MADMAN :

    u need this windows xp or what every version of ur computer repairing disc, go and search for it.
  20. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    When I opened up my laptop on April the 9th, it's full stuffed up and there's this thing where it says - SiS900 PXE BootROM V1.09 HOOK.....(and some other stuff which i don't remember), I used this windows xp disc and set it up again, then everything's alright, but the next day when i opened the computer again it just stuffed up again like yesterday( what the hell ????), then i have to repair it again, and then the next day which is today, it happened again!!! i tried to repair it again but all it would do is keep on do the process of repairing over and over again and it would work. about 3:00 it worked again maybe 'cause of luck.

    What is all this???

    Can someone pllllllllllllllllllllllzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me??????:p
  21. rf6647

    rf6647 TS Maniac Posts: 931

    Gwass has given you a logical starting place. Suspect hard drive failure. Obtain new/spare hard drive. Try to revive the suspect hard drive as you did before. Then with appropriate software, clone suspect to the new hard drive. Following the cloning, verify the new hard drive is bootable. I use Partition Magic which alters boot.ini, so a menu is offered to select the copy of Windows XP.

    Obviously, the clone/duplicate is only as good as the original/source.

    If cloning is not possible, a new hard drive can help with isolating the problem. Use the XP CD to install the OS on the new drive. Monitor behavior/performance of the system.

    At this point, hardware is most suspect. The motherboard, bios/cmos, cmos battery, and ide cables/connectors are on the list.

    Please, Please, please read other threads in the TS forums describing how to post problems. The Guides & Solved Issues sub-forum and the Introduce Yourself sub-forum are excellent starting points.

    Based on the posts thus far, I would have expected a report from you that describes your findings when examining the bios setup (machine or bios burst screen instructs you to press the appropriate key).
  22. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    i c.......i did actually get my computer to work but then i have a internet problem with TP-link!!!!!!!!

    ...i seem to have endless trouble with this computer.
    p.s. i didn't need to press the appropriate key, all i need to do is to use the winp disc and repair its slef but then it would only keep repeating its self..now i got 3 files in (C): named WINDOWS, WINDOW.0, WINDOW.1,

    should i delete them?
  23. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    CaN sOmEbOdY hElP mE????

    I'm hAvInG InTeRnEt pRoBlEmS, I cAn'T gEt AcEsSeSs iNtO tHe iNtErNeT, aNd sOmEtHiNg'S bLoCkInG mE fRoM gEtTiNg In tO MSN LIVE 8.0

    aNy tHiNg wOuLd hElP

    :hotbounce :angel:
  24. rf6647

    rf6647 TS Maniac Posts: 931

    multiple copies of windows

    Based on your reported symptom that you now have folders windows, windows.0, and windows.1, I am surprised that you have not complained that the desktop has changed and applications are not working. Your post about MSN Live 8.0 could be an application problem.
  25. sunseeker123

    sunseeker123 TS Rookie

    Its Getting Better

    The desktop did change but this sort of situation happened lyk 6 times so i got used to it.

    But should i delete the Windows.0 windows.1 and windows.0, and if i did, would it damage the system?

    And what about the internt?i suddenly came to work again today, and i 'm able to log on to msn live.

    thnx for ur help:haha:
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.