Booting Problem on New PC Build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, so I've been trying to build my first PC, but since I'm a noob I've had a hell of a time getting it right. My first mobo was defective, so I finally get a new one this week, only to find that I can't quite get it to work. This is the problem: when I hook it up to a power supply and turn on the power switch in the back, it turns on automatically for a few seconds, then goes into hibernate mode. The mobo led is on, but the fans, video card, processor fan all turn off after a few seconds. It shouldn't even be turning on at this point, so I think it's a wiring problem. But let me know. I'll post the specs shortly.

The front power switch will stay on the on position until you push it to the off position unless you shut down properly, at least for some PC cases and perhaps yours. If so, as soon as you plug it back in your PC has power.

When you installed the motherboard, did you use standoffs? They should have been supplied with the case. If not used, the motherboard will short to the case. Also, the rear I/O panel and installed PCI cards won't line up correctly.

Edit: for spelling error.

I hadn't foreseen the power button problem. I'll check that out. And, yes, I did use standoffs for it--I've seen my friends crucify their mobos and cry afterwards.

mailpup said:
The front power switch will stay on the on position until you push it to the off position unless you shut down properly, at least for some PC cases and perhaps yours. If so, as soon as you plug it back in your PC has power.
That was for old AT mainboards, not ATX.

When you installed the motherboard, did you use standoffs? They should have been supplied with the case. If not used, the motherboard will short to the case.
And the mainboard will die, probably taking a lot of components with it.

Mictlantecuhtli said:
That was for old AT mainboards, not ATX.