Bottlenecked, I believe

Status
Not open for further replies.

TaNaKa52

Well, I must start out by saying that Im quite surprised. Just recently, I upgraded my system memory from 256 -> 768. After that, I went out a bought a new Radeon X1300 to upgrade from my old 7500.

After installing everything and making sure all drivers are up to date, I started playing my usual games (Cod, RYL, CSS, AH, etc...) and I actually recieved a lower framerate than that of my older specs.
After consulting numerous intel advisors and a few personally computer builders I know, I was told that my PSU was the problem. Turns out, that was 1 of the problems due to it having a max output of 250w. In response to this, I bought a 400w power supply and once again to my surprise, no real increase in framrates - Only responses to how fast the framerates update.

So, the only thing that can TRULY be stopping my performance must be my processor. To add to this. I used the Intel(R) Processor ID Utility to make sure everything was running as planned and this is the results I attained:

Expected Processor Frequency: 2.93 GHz
Reported Processor Frequency: 1.29 GHz
Expected System Bus Frequency: 533 MHz
Reported System Bus Frequency: 235 MHz

What do ya think?

Try running Everest Home Edition and check the frequency from there. Intel's apps aren't very accurate (as wolfram might very well know ;)). But since the frame rates are quite low, maybe it is due to the SpeedStep technology? Which processor do you have? And is the RAM you bought the same specs as the old RAM and compatible with ur mobo?

Oops, forgot the processor ><

Its an Intel Celeron D 2.93Ghz

And yes, the new memory i bought contained the same speed and all(400mhz)

Also, I Thought that speedstep was for mobile CPU's only?

EDIT: The Speed is proven to be 2.93ghz thankfully, but it does show that the FSB Is only at 133mhz. Although im probably just getting this confused, isnt it suppose to be at 533mhz?