TechSpot

BSOD on laptop

By Bradders11
Oct 30, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. Having a few BSODs recently, I am playing games on my laptop, which could be the issue. I have the minidump files which I will upload now.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Your issue is with memory corruption. Therefore you’ll need to run memtest on your RAM.

    See the link below and follow the instructions. There is a newer version than what is listed; use the newer. If you need to see what the Memtest screen looks like go to reply #21. The third screen is the Memtest screen.

    Step1 - Let it run for a LONG time. The rule is a minimum of 7 Passes; the more Passes after 7 so much the better. The only exception is if you start getting errors before 7 Passes then you can skip to Step 2.

    There are 8 individual tests per Pass. Many people will start this test before going to bed and check it the next day.

    If you have errors you have corrupted memory and it needs to be replaced.

    Step 2 – Because of errors you need to run this test per stick of RAM. Take out one and run the test. Then take that one out and put the other in and run the test. If you start getting errors before 7 Passes you know that stick is corrupted and you don’t need to run the test any further on that stick.


    Link:http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic62524.html


    * Get back to us with the results.
     
  3. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 128

    In addition to Route44's excellent advice to run Memtest86:

    We should also take care of some potential software issue.

    Start by installing these updated JMicron Card Reader drivers: ftp://driver.jmicron.com.tw/jmb38x/XP_Vista_Win7/Cardreader
    Code:
    jmcr.sys     Thu Aug 07 05:01:36 2008 (489AB9F0)
    Also, your Intel Wireless drivers are old:
    Code:
    netw5v64.sys Thu Mar 26 12:21:24 2009 (49CBAB84)
    Update them here: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/default.aspx?iid=gg_support-EN_01+home_downloadctr

    If you post your laptop specs, I can get you a direct download.

    While not blamed, Avira is a known cause of BSODs. I suggest that you remove it, and replace it with Microsoft's free alternative, MSE.

    http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials

    Now, the dumps were not really conclusive. One of them pointed to dxgmms1.sys, which is the Microsoft DirectX driver for your video card.

    We know DirectX is not the cause, but often this indicated a problem with either your card itself, or the drivers.

    The drivers look okay:
    Code:
    nvlddmkm.sys Fri Oct 08 03:41:00 2010 (4CAECB0C)
    Let's just note this for future reference. Windbg makes no guarantee that there is a graphics problem, which makes our job somewhat harder.

    Finally, it may pay to test your system temperatures. I recommend Speedfan for this job: http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

    Summary of the Dumps:
    Code:
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Sat Oct 30 14:37:09.564 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 2:32:53.343
    BugCheck A, {0, 2, 1, fffff80002c8d9a4}
    Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!SetWakeBit+f8 )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
    PROCESS_NAME:  csrss.exe
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Sat Oct 30 12:03:48.769 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 23:22:58.548
    BugCheck 1000007E, {ffffffffc0000005, fffff88002d54412, fffff8800452f618, fffff8800452ee80}
    Probably caused by : dxgmms1.sys ( dxgmms1!VIDMM_DEVICE::RemoveCommitment+22 )
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7E
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Fri Oct 29 12:40:09.109 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 1:37:38.888
    BugCheck A, {500, 2, 1, fffff80002c67beb}
    Probably caused by : hardware ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+237cf )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Fri Oct 22 22:20:44.858 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 5:12:13.512
    BugCheck 1E, {0, 0, 0, 0}
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiKernelCalloutExceptionHandler+e )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_0
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Thu Oct 21 21:04:09.957 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 2:37:32.736
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000096, fffff80002c91848, fffff880024331b0, 0}
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B
    PROCESS_NAME:  svchost.exe
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
     
  4. Bradders11

    Bradders11 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks guys, spec for my laptop are:

    Intel(R) Core 2 Duo CPU P8400 @2.26GHz
    Nvidia GeForce 9600M GS
    According to Everest my motherboard name is unknown lol

    according to speedfan, my GPU temp on idle is 52C, whilst the 2 cores are at 38C each.

    Do you want me to run a temp test whilst I play the game i normally play to see how much they fluctuate?
     
  5. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 128

    Sure, that would be great. The temps look fine now, but let's see what they do under pressure.

    What is the model of your laptop? Could you upload a MSINFO32 file for us?
    Let us know when you have completed all that Route44 and I recommended, and hopefully the BSODs will stop.
     
  6. Bradders11

    Bradders11 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well, my laptop was custom built from overclockers.co.uk so it doesn't have a model type. I've attatched the msinfo32 file.

    Also whilst i had the game on, the gpu temp went up to 62C and the CPUs were both 55-56C.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 128

  8. Bradders11

    Bradders11 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hi, I am pretty certain now that the issue is the ram, so I don't suppose i could get a link to some good ram for my laptop (I plan to replace both 1GB sticks). I'm hoping not to spend more than £40 or What I believe the euquivilent is $60. Thanks again for the help.
     
  9. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    What OS are you running and please give us the make and model # of your laptop.
     
  10. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 128

    Route44:

    Model is m860tu, according to MSINFO32. OS is Windows 7 Professional x64.

    Since that is a custom machine, it is probably a good idea to get the RAM specs from CPU-Z instead. Could you download CPU-Z, and post a screenshot of the Memory and SPD tabs?

    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
     
  11. Bradders11

    Bradders11 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ok the screenshots are attatched.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 128

  13. Bradders11

    Bradders11 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ok thanks, I'll get round to buying it when i can get myself a screwdriver for the small screws lol.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...