BSOD STOP: 0X50 - Computer won't start at all.

ScottRP

Hi guys,

I'm currently having major issue in starting up my HP laptop currently running Vista SP2. I made a few changes to the startup items in msconfig (for example, Bonjour service etc..) to try and speed startup up, and after the reboot to apply the settings my computer will not start at all. I'm currently studying to become a tech, but I've tried everything I know to try and figure this out, but have had no luck!

The BSOD error screen is the PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA STOP: 0X00000050. This error screen shows just after Windows has loaded the drivers needed for startup and just before the POST checks the hard drive for faults, I recieve this lovely BSOD everytime I try to start it up!

I have tried the primary hard drive self test in the BIOS diagnostics and that's bringing up a failure everytime. The test status is telling me #1- 07 Fail. The same is happening if I try to boot in last know good configration, safe mode, safe mode with cmd, and so on.

The other problem is that this laptop was a hand down from my Mother. It's currently pushing 6 years old now, and is on motherboard number 2, hard drive number 2, disk drive number 2, NIC number 2, and so on.. Also, I have no access to the Vista recovery disk/HP recovery disk as they were unable to be found.

I have a feeling that either my hard drive has failed or that maybe it's a RAM failure?

Hope you guys have an idea of how to sort this problem out!

Many thanks!

This is probably the hard drive as you are getting a failure message from the hard drive self test from the diagnostics.

To run a more conclusive test follow this guide.

Identify the make of your hard drive and then use one of the links below to get the manufacturer's diagnostics for ISO (CD) not the one for Windows.

When the download is complete right click the file and select Extract Here and burn the image to a CD.