TechSpot

BSOD when trying to update Windows

By Cutman
Jun 25, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. Hi everyone,

I recently built a new system (like a month ago) and everything seemed fine at first and then I suddenly got 2 or 3 random BSOD while playing Diablo but everything else was running smooth. Afterward I got another while downloading something with steam (wasn't even using the computer).
    It was kind of hard to get a BSOD at that point but right now I am able to get it every time I try to update Windows (I did all the updates successfully when I installed windows at first).

I am not sure where to start looking at.... I think it might be related to my network adapter or maybe my SSD drive but I am not really good at analyzing minidump so here I am!

Here's what in the system:
    - Video card :
    EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti Superclocked
    - Ram :
    Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 16GB
    - Motherboard:
    ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
    - CPU :
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    - HDD:
    Western Digital 2TB
    - SSD:
    OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
    - Power supply : Corsair TX750 V2
    - Windows 7 ultimate 64 bits

Drivers are up to date, Windows is not since I can't update it anymore :/
    I also did prime95 torture test for like 2 hours and everything was fine.

Any help will be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,222   +231

I know many of you love ASUS by why? The minidumps are all the same. Non discript... I'm running a 60GB Kingston SSD drive as a back up with no problems. The OCZ might be your problem. Is is set on a SATA 3 port as AHCI in the bios?

3. Cutman

Cutman TS Rookie Topic Starter

SATA is configured as AHCI which is the default on this motherboard.

SATA 3 port is my DVD drive ASUS DRW-24B1ST (I am not really an ASUS fan by the way...)
    The OCZ is on SATA 1 port and this is my primary drive for programs (Windows installed on it).

Since you say the minidump are not really helpulf :(