BSOD Win XP SP3, ntoskrnl.exe?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

This is my first time "debugging" a BSOD, although I like to think I'm pretty technically savvy, so hopefully this won't be too hard for someone to help me...

It's my mom's computer and an odd occurrence just started happening.. she claims she has not installed any new software recently - she has no anti virus software (no viruses, I checked). Her computer just started rebooting itself... and it would happen in random times, no consistency of when, but mainly within minutes of booting up.

I turned off the auto-reboot so we could see the blue screens and it ended up being a Page_fault_in_nonepaged_area paging error. STOP: 0000000050 (0XE1609000), 0X00000000, 0X804FCB4F, 0X00000001

She can boot into Safe mode with networking and it runs fine - no errors. This makes me guess it's a device driver or service error, but I am not certain how to pinpoint that...

I have attached a bunch of the minidumps - which I have tried to analyze myself with WinDbg but couldn't get the symbols to register correctly. I am mainly seeing it to be a problem with ntoskrnl.exe though.

I am not sure what to do from here... and could really use some professional advise.. it's beyond me at this point and since I'm only able to remote in to my mom's computer with VNC, I'm not able to totally reformat and install her OS from scratch at this time... so any advise is appreciated. Thank you.

~Abbey

Attachments

• minidumps.zip
    180.5 KB · Views: 5
We would need more information on the computer and configuration. This is often a hardware issue or an install issue of an update, or a memory failure...

Do a google search of the error message for more details It will take too long and too much space ehre.

Thank you very much for your quick reply.