TechSpot

Building new PC, need motherboard PSU suggestions

By hoolege06
Aug 6, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. Hi guys,

I am brand new at this stuff. I really want to learn how to build my own computers instead of buying Dell garbage. But I have a lot to learn.

Can you help me with the power supply and motherboard?

Are these three compatible?

Power supply:
    COOLER MASTER GX Series RS650-ACAAE3-US 650W ATX12V v2.31 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Case:
    Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case ,comes with Three Fans-1x Front Blue LED 120mm Fan, 1x Top 140mm Fan, 1x Rear 120mm Fan, option Fans-2x Side 120mm Fan

Any extra tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all in advance! Smile
    Hoolege06

2. crunchie

crunchie Malware Helper Posts: 761

Putting your processor and Ram in there as well would give us a better idea I think.
    PSU should be fine, depending also on what graphics card(s) you are running.

3. hoolege06

hoolege06 TS Rookie Topic Starter

Here ya go! :)

CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W

RAM:
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

Graphics card:
    MSI R5770 Hawk Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

4. crunchie

crunchie Malware Helper Posts: 761

If it were me buying it, I would buy the FX series motherboard. No need for onboard graphics when you are buying a card.
    Cannot find if those ripjaws are compatible, but they probably are.
    I was going to buy the ripjaws myself but settled for the ECO model. PC12800 running at rated frequency @ 7-7-7-24=1T easily with only 1.4volts.

All in all though, that looks like a very nice build. You will be happy with the 6 core.

5. Ritwik7

Ritwik7 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,288   +7