Buying a computer, need help figuring out what's good

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diremon

Ok, sorry if I picked the wrong board for this kind of topic, I couldn't figure out which board is most appropriate.
I'm in the process of buying a computer, the kind with the... uh... tower? I'm sorry, I'm not very good with all the technical names. I was thinking of buying the individual parts and assembling the computer myself, or would it be cheaper to buy a whole computer? (I have a budget of around $800 dollars, but I really don't want to spend that much if I don't have to.)
Also, I was looking at some computers, and they usually come with an OS, always Window Vista. I do not want this operating system, as I'm not very patient with buggy systems still in their practically "beta" stages. How would I get a new computer to have Windows XP? Would I have to (somehow) uninstall Vista and install XP, or what would I have to do?
I'm looking for a computer with excellent performance, because I will probably play games on it, as well as animating on it. (This would include running multiple programs, rendering (which would take FOREVER to do on a slower computer), creating video files, and veiwing them.)

Are there any parts you have from an old system that you would be willing to still use like monitor, keyboard, and mouse?

If you buy a computer system you will have to do research to find if they can still install XP. If you build XP can still be purchased for $139 + shipping from NewEgg.

I suggest going to the Other Hardware forum and read Wing-01's thread and then go to Gaming & Consoles forum and read shoot4thrill's thread. Both are asking the same question as you and you can get some ideas there.