Can anyone help me with my WMP problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BluebirdBooks

Hello,

My daughter's fiancee helped me overcome a sound problem when playing
DVDs on my Windows XP/Compaq V5000 laptop. He was able to get
DVDs to play with quality sound; but now no other media will play with
WMP (CDs, movie clips, internet radio stations, sound bites, etc.).
iTunes and Real based media seem to play just
fine. I know he was fiddling around with Codec, drivers, and latest version
of WMP. When I try to play something, I get error code C00D11B1. I have gone
down the checklist provided by Windows but all seems in order. Internet radio
returns message, "This media appears to be unavailable...do
you wish to attempt to reconnect?"
Anyone out there have a clue what is going on here?

Thanks in advance...btw, I am not very good with technical terminology, etc.

best,
Eric M

Have you tried just uninstalling the WMP from Add/Remove Programs, rebooting and getting a FRESH download and installing again?

sounds like the other media are not file associated with the player. right click on the type of item you with to play, and then associate it with WMP.

I uninstalled WMP 11 but...

...system took me to an earlier version (WMP 10); then I rebooted; still doesn't work but I am getting a new error message:

"the specified module could not be found" "click here for webhelp>Windows Media Player Error Message Help

You've encountered error message 8007007E while using Windows Media Player. Additional information is not currently available for this error."

Seems to be getting worse.

thanks,
Eric M.