Can I use Windows 7 64-bit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

csba09

I am wondering if my computer can handle the 64-bit version of Windows 7. My computer specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 x2 4200+
Asus A8N-SLI Socket 939 motherboard
nVidia 7600 GT videocard

When I run the windows system upgrade advisor it tells me to install the 32-bit version, but I already purchased the 64-bit version without thinking I would have a problem since my CPU is 64-bit. I just want to make sure it will work before I install it.

I'm new to Windows 7 (professional 64bit), but I know you need minimum 4GB ram to run 64 bit Windows.
You also need to make sure your apps will work with 64bit. Also, you say you purchased 64 bit version? When I installed, I was prompted whether I wanted 32 or 64 bit.

csba9,
You should have no problem processor wise. Like stategic said you will need RAM, you can load it up and Windows will actually use more than 4GB (32bit limitation). You'll need new printer drivers (if you have an HP printer they seem to have quite a few 64 bit, other brands may be a problem as well as older HP printers). I believe Windows 7 will have all your hardware drivers as it appears fairly new. I also think that most modern 32bit apps will install and run in 64bit, that may take some research. I was very pleased with the one 64 bit I have done so far. Office 2007 32bit had no problems whatsoever.
good luck and report back

It will work, you don't have to have more than 4 gigs. I'm running 7 Pro 64bit on 3 gigs just fine. The only concern is if there are 64bit drivers for everything. Graphics/Sound/Chipset should all be good, printers you'll want to check on, same with scanners, tv tuner cards, and anything else you have attached.