TechSpot

Cannot connect only to Microsoft sites

By trimi
Mar 8, 2008
  1. Hello guys, I just purchassed a laptop HP Pavilion dv6647cl Entertainment Notebook PC. After the very first thing I did, opening it from the box and setting it up, I tried to connect on the internet. I found that all Microsoft related sites refused to connect, and of course Windows Update too. I am able to connect to Google, Yahoo, and some other sites, but as I said cannot connect to Microsoft.
    IE 7 shows 'website found. Loading..... but it never does. I struggled to fix this issue by going to HP support site thinking to update Ethernet drivers and so, but all in vain. I also tried to use a couple of drivers from NVIDIA's site, but it was helpless.
    The other thing is that at HP Drivers and Support site my hardware does not match. For this specific model there is provided software for the hardware that is not present in my l-top. For instance bluetooth is not present in my l-top and when I downloaded the Network driver and tried to apply the update, an error message was displayed as no bluetooth device is present on the system which aborted the further installation. I also have different type of Optical Drive,... I tried to contact HP Online Support but it kept showing connecting...... without ever finishing it.
    To this writing I am not in the States and also when I set up the l-top for the first time I was out of US (if it does make any difference??). I know that nothing is wrong with my ISP because I can connect another PC and the network works just fine.
    I really need help in this matter.

    AMD Athlon 64 x2 TK-55
    Mother Board manufacturer: QUANTA, MODEL 30CF
    CHIPSET: NVIDIA nForce 560 Rev.2
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7150M
     
  2. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    what operating system did you install?
    did you also install a firewall program or any other "freeware" utilities for internet security and stuff?
    did you try a different browser such as firefox?

    please post back
    mscrx
     
  3. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    here's a scripted version you can save and redo anytime
    run->cmd
    echo ipconfig /flushdns >flushDNS.bat
    echo net stop "DNS Client" >>flushDNS.bat
    echo net start "DNS Client" >>flushDNS.bat​

    now anytime you need it
    run->cmd
    .\flushDNS.bat ​
     
  4. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    thank you for replying, I have Windows Vista Home Premium originally purchassed with the laptop. I have not installed any extra software. I tried to connect it on my ADSL modem, which is provided by my ISP, and it refused to connect to all Microsoft sites, yahoo from time-to-time, and some other sites. Google works fine. I uninstalled Norton IS just to see if it is causing this. It did not work.
    I have tried the commands to flush DNS, as instructed above, but to no avail.
    Here is the ipconfig /all info:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : John-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    PPP adapter Connection 1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Connection 1
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.4.143.115(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.163.97.5
    213.163.97.10
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-BE-5E-B2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-C7-2E-4C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f5f3:6af1:19d:9538%8(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.149.56(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167779108
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6E045E3A-772B-4996-B830-CCCCE6A34
    85E}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3C4C231C-BD71-4AC7-A165-502355096
    9D3}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  5. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    lets start a little more easy. can you just ping microsoft.com from a cmd window?

    edit:
    ah not sure if that will work....
    can you try a different computer or at least a different browser?
     
  6. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    I also tried with Firefox to end up without positive result, same as using IE 7.
    I know that my Internet connection works fine because I have Win XP desktop nearby and I use the same to connect it without problems.
    I could ping yahoo.com sucessfully, but not microsoft.
    As you can see on the ipconfig /all, there is no physical address for PPP adapter, I don't know if this means anything bad...
     
  7. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    the ppp adapter is not a physical device and therefor has no physical address. if this guy was your problem you would not be able to connect to anywhere.
    if vista is installed by default and no changes have been made it can only be some vista security feature(s). I only have a vista business here but I know that home premium contains a internet content securita software which you can use to keep your children away from certain websites. maybe you should first try to disable all the nice security features inside vista and see what happens. I think you could also start a thread in the windows os section of this forums because it doesn't seem to be a problem with a mobile device but an os configuration problem.
     
  8. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    I understand bro, I am just not profficient enough in networking..
    Let me tell you that I figured it out how to temporarilly fix this issue. A solution I found in another forum where I received instructions to enable 'normal' networking. I was told to start the l-top and wait until it completely boots, then (while being connected to network) I had to go to sleep mode and thereafter wake up the pc. In this way I could get normal internet browsing with any site including Windows. But this is an inconvenient way because I have to do this every time after I start my L-top. I am not sure if this is driver issue or OS Vista defect. As I said before, I have not altered any software in any way, and I have not installed anything yet. No other user is but me on this laptop, as such, no Parental features enabled yet. This is right out of the box.
    This is frustrating and I don't know how to fix it yet.
     
  9. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    ok, I honestly donno what to say now :)
    this sounds a little like a power saving mode issue. but it would not explain why you can access all websites except the microsoft ones.
     
  10. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    hum; why are you using IPv6 on a simple lan network?

    Disable IPv6, revert to IPv4, disconnect from the lan and then reconnect.
     
  11. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    All the settings here are by default. Please tell me how to Disable IPv6, and revert to IPv4. Thanx
     
     
  12. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    (Win/XP only) get a command prompt and enter
    ipv6 uninstall

    next enter ipv6 if and it should report is not installed

    reboot
     
  13. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    ... and please post back if it worked! it would be interesting to know.
    thanks
     
  14. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    Hello mscrx, I entered the commands you showed but they do not execute!! Reply show as unknown commands
     
  15. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    you must be logged on as an admin

    get a command prompt
    cd \windows\system32
    .\ipv6 uninstall​

    note the leading .\
     
  16. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    the other way to disable ipv6 is

    regedit
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip6\Parameters\

    add DisabledComponents DWORD 0XFF

    reboot

    reference info
     
  17. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    '.\ipv6' is not recognized as an internal or external command, ....
     
  18. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    IPV6 is not here anymore but unfortunately I still cannot access Microsoft sites plus much more.. Ito looks like it is not the culprit!.. here is the ipconfig /all

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\John>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : John-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    PPP adapter Connection 1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Connection 1
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.4.145.108(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.163.97.5
    213.163.97.10
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-BE-5E-xx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-C7-2E-22
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.149.56(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
     
  19. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324


    the 169.254.x.x says your system did not find the DHCP service from the router

    power off the modem and the router
    disconnect the system from the router
    wait 30 seconds, power on the modem

    allow the modem to stablize (about 1 minute)

    power on the router and let it stablize

    see the prior note: the other way to disable ipv6 is ...

    now reconnect the router and the system.
     
  20. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    I have no router, I only have an ADSL modem connected directly to my Laptop.
    here below is the ipconfig /all when I rebooted both the modem and the laptop and showing connected, but non-working connection.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\John>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : John-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    PPP adapter Connection 1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Connection 1
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.4.145.229(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.163.97.5
    213.163.97.10
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0xxxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.149.56(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    And here below is the other with true connection only after I first went to sleep mode and then to connect and get working connection.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\John>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : John-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    PPP adapter Connection 1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Connection 1
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.4.145.251(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.163.97.5
    213.163.97.10
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00xxxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.149.56(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



    I see no difference!!!!!!!!!!
     
  21. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    ok, no router.

    still same issue; didn't find DHCP from the modem.

    Use View Network connections->Properties
    scroll down to TCP/IP, click property button

    enable DHCP for both IP and DNS

    click the Alternative config
    clear everything

    click OK to save

    get a command prompt
    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew

    ipconfig /all​
    and we should get a non-169.x.x.x address
     
  22. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    sometimes the provider gives out instructions for manual settings like default dns and gateway. did you get a sheet of data to configure the computer for the internet?
    then you may have to configure the tsp/ip settings yourself and not let the nic get autoconfigured.
     
  23. Hodsocks

    Hodsocks TS Guru Posts: 534

    I suspect it may be due to a problem with your MTU settings, I have had this problem before and changing these settings cured the problem. If your using a USB modem use Drtcp from http://www.dslreports.com/drtcp. Try dropping MTU to 1400.
     
  24. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    Guys, thank you for replies. I've been very busy at work last two days and had not time to continue with troubleshooting the L-top. Today I will give it a try for all the suggestions you gave me and let you know. Thanks again.
     
  25. trimi

    trimi TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

    Hello Jobeard,
    thank you for replying, I tried to do as you instructed me, but I could not
    find where to enable DHCP for both IP and DNS.. I don't use static ip.
    I did not get any data sheet about Network Configuration from my ISP.
    I don't know how the network gets normalized when I go to sleep mode and return
    to reconect and browse internet normaly!!..

    thank you all for helping
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.