TechSpot

Can't access BIOS with my External Monitor

By walaydise dza
May 15, 2016
Post New Reply
  1. I by accident cracked my SAMSUNG Laptop screen ( My PC Details => http://www.goo.gl/FFA0DK ), I'm using VGA cable for my laptop to an External Monitor and I have problem, I want to Reset my Windows 7 but I can't access to BIOS with my External Monitor, I actually can't see anything only on Windows login.
     
  2. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,233   +201

    A broken screen may be just one of the problems. As it won't even boot up consider buying a new laptop. You could end up wasting money and a fair bit of your time on this.
     
  3. walaydise dza

    walaydise dza TS Rookie Topic Starter

    what should I do ? is it difficult to do this ? :oops:
     
  4. Cycloid Torus

    Cycloid Torus TS Evangelist Posts: 1,662   +311

    Replace cracked screen?
     
  5. walaydise dza

    walaydise dza TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thank you for the answer :) , but I have problem Accessing BIOS with External Laptop. and some people when I tried to fix my laptop screen told me that they can't or it's impossible to fix !
     
  6. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,233   +201

    Yes, it's going to be hard unless you are used to fiddling around with computers and you may well be unsuccessful.
     
  7. walaydise dza

    walaydise dza TS Rookie Topic Starter

    So it is Impossible to Access BIOS with the External Monitor or there is some Solutions :eek: ?
     
  8. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,233   +201

    You have to hold down the correct key as it boots up and that varies with computers. Try f10 or f2 for starters. I can't see that accessing the BIOS will be helpful.
     
  9. walaydise dza

    walaydise dza TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I know how to go to BIOS but the only problem is that it doesn't appear on the External Monitor, I can't see nothing exept in the Windows Loggin.
     
  10. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,233   +201

    Back to considering buying a new laptop or even a desktop to make use of the monitor. Best of luck.
     
  11. walaydise dza

    walaydise dza TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Can't buy a new Laptop cause I don't have enough money :'( , I don't know but some people keep telling me to go to BIOS and type: Fn+F4 but it didn't work. or my Fn key doesn't work correctly ! just want to know if this will work or not.
     
  12. Cycloid Torus

    Cycloid Torus TS Evangelist Posts: 1,662   +311

  13. Cycloid Torus

    Cycloid Torus TS Evangelist Posts: 1,662   +311

  14. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,233   +201

    Even when you are using the correct keys it can take quite a lot of attempts to get into the BIOS. It's pretty basic but you have to work these things out for yourself.
     
    Cycloid Torus likes this.
  15. Cycloid Torus

    Cycloid Torus TS Evangelist Posts: 1,662   +311

    I read somewhere that if hard to get into BIOS, just hold down the required key and start the system. I tried it once on a machine which booted too fast for me and it worked.
     
  16. walaydise dza

    walaydise dza TS Rookie Topic Starter

    My problem it's not only Accessing BIOS, when I turn Laptop ON (and the VGA cable is Placed) my External Monitor doesn't show me the Windows 7 Logo only when I Loggin on Windows (when Drivers Start Working). I red somewhere that I need to unplug Laptop LCD but it didn't work !
     
  17. Cycloid Torus

    Cycloid Torus TS Evangelist Posts: 1,662   +311

    Tried the Samsung support? Forum there might have answer.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...