Can't boot after installing new RAM

By fdart17
Jan 2, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. I just installed a new SSD and reinstalled windows. For some reason when I was installing windows I was getting an error in installation. Removing 1 ram piece fixed this. So Now I have all the software and updates I want installed, but when I try putting the other ram in again I can't boot (I don't see anything, don't reach BIOS and my mouse is not detected). Note that this ram worked fine before I installed the SSD, I've been using it for ~8 months now. There was a minor burnt smell when I tried to boot once with both ram in.

I tried removing the ram again but now I can't boot like that either, same problem. I tried moving the ram through all the combinations (both in slots 1 and 3, both in slots 2 and 4, only one in each slot) with no success. I tried clearing my CMOS again with no success.

Any idea how this could be fixed?

Thanks! :)

Edit: To save a few clicks

RAM: 2x 4GB G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-8
    CPU:Intel i5 2500k
    Motherboard, Memory:
    ASROCK Fatal1ty P67
    Graphics:
    MSI N560 GTX-TI
    Storage:
    OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD, SAMSUNG SP2504C (250 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)
    Case, cooling:
    Cooler Master Storm Trooper
    Other Peripherals:
    PSU: Corsair 650W CMPSU-650TXV2 R
    Operating System:
    Win 7 Professional
  2. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,451   +135

The motherboard is probably fried (a memory slot) A minor burning smell is never good
  3. fdart17

fdart17 TechSpot Member Topic Starter Posts: 39

If a memory slot was fried on the MOBO, wouldn't the other 3 still work? Or do I need a new motherboard?
    All the LED's come on as normal on the board.
    It looks like I can't boot the system at all, even if I try both ram sticks one at a time in the various slots. Any idea how I can determine if this is really the problem?
  4. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,451   +135

If a memory slot is fried the motherboard is bad