Can't turn on my PS3, no green light

By ducracer
May 17, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hello, im a newbie here and i don't play my ps3 too often, however today i tried to play but it just wouldn't turn on. the green light will come on for a bit then make a sound turn yellow then red. i read the trobleshooting section on my book but all it said was that it may be overheated but i have the cooling system hooked up to it sinc the day i got it. i don't know much about the system so please any info will be appreciated. thanks.
  2. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,748   +156

You need to take the PS3 in for service
  3. mopar man

mopar man TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 1,492

To be honest, this is the first thing I have heard of a PS3 having this kind of error. I am sure some have it, but nobody I know has had this problem.
  4. Myzz617

Myzz617 Newcomer, in training Posts: 382

If you have a cooling system u bought from a 3rd party try removing it and only use just the PS3 console and make sure there is plenty space for it to breathe. What model do u have 40gig??
  5. BMfan

BMfan TechSpot Guru Posts: 479   +48

I have heard of 3rd party cooling systems actually causing the PS3 to overheat.
  6. prowler09

prowler09 Newcomer, in training

^^ yea, this happend to my dads ps3
  7. hamas123

hamas123 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 499

Have to took it out then? And like myzz617 said give it some space after you done that. If that doesn't/didn't work tell us.
  8. Godzaghe

Godzaghe Newcomer, in training

Ring Sony, they are nice to help.
  9. Tmagic650

I have never worked on a PS3, but it is not unusual for internal power supplies to fail... Is it?
  10. ben456789

ben456789 Newcomer, in training

well i have the exact same problem right now was u able to find a solution manually??? coz i am desperate 2 find out :(:(:(
  11. jtickner1

jtickner1 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 663