Career path help/opinions please

syde

Thanks for taking the time to read this:)

After much time and research (thankfully) I realized how much more interested I am in the PC Tech department then the IT side. With that being said I was curious/had a few questions I was hoping to get answered:

-I'll be a full-time student soon and going for my associates in "Computer Systems & Network Technology" after reading from a lot of people how certs are (it seems) better then a 4 year degree. Should I be working towards a specific list of certs?
MCSE? etc. other certs I should really be considering?

( I know times are constantly changing in the computer industry so new certs come out here and there )

Should I pick up a side gig program to play around on my free time at night while I'm a student?

Should I consider looking into running multiple OS on my pc or get a couple more cheap PC's for experimentation?

I could keep going but I don't want to sound...hmmmmp like the little kid with to many questions.

thanks again.

Those certificates are good for government jobs, and large organizations which face scrutiny over hiring and promotions. In those cases, you must still be very good in addition to having the Cert.

Having been a Federal administrator over such programs, and then owning four shops in three states, it is my believe that a Cert is worthless. Many of the best people do not have Certs, and too many of the people with certs don't have a clue. I think a great number of shop owners and organizational managers would tell you the same thing. Worthless to have except in the personnel file. Or some place like Computer Squad or Geek Squad or Tech Heros