Computer and network connection question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I have joined this website in the hope someone can answer a few questions I have.

I am an Amateur when it comes to computers and networks. My firend and I have been trying to connect to one anothers computers using telnet in the command prompt. First we go to whatsmyip.org and we use that ip to try to connect. We then shutdown our firewall security and attempt to connect. We both end up failing. So I then tryed to ping his computer and that also failed.

So first i was wondering is it possible to connect though the internet like that??? And if so what am i doing wrong?? Or do u have to be on the same network?
I was also thinking could it be possibly the router I have blocking the ping or telnet.
Thank you and I hope someone can help me with my ignorance.

whatsmyip.org gives the public (ie wan side) address of your modem or router
while the systems are on the LAN side and the NAT feature hides the system addresses.

1) reenable those firewalls!

2) from your router port forward (port 23) to your system's ip address

3) open port 23 on the firewall

and pinging the systems ip address across the Internet will not work.

Once you correct the above, I HIGHLY recommend you stop using telnet and move to SSH (runs on port 22) which will encrypt the traffic and the login.

Thank you. But I still dont understand what ip should I be using and where or how can i get it? Also what is SSH??? And how can i use that?
Thank You

Thank you. But I still dont understand what ip should I be using and where or how can i get it?
On EACH system, get a command prompt (run->cmd) and enter IPCONFIG
the ip address show is the target needed for port forward port 23.
For you, you can only port forward to one system.
You friend needs to do the above and has the same restriction
Also what is SSH??? And how can i use that?
Thank You