Computer Build, Novice in Need of Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys/gals, I appreciate your taking the time to read through this. I am new to computer building and could use some more experienced direction from anyone who has experience in computer building. I have conducted some research and intend to conduct further research before purchasing hardware and constructing the computer, nevertheless, based on the little research I've done and several consumer reviews, namely from tigerdirect, newegg, and circuitcity buyers I have composed a list of computer hardware which is compatible and, to my knowledge, of high quality. The computer is to be used for high end gaming and research with future potential upgrading as a major priority.

Before listing off the selected hardware, I was curious as to anyone's thoughts regarding the intel core i7 920 and 860 processors. In terms of performance I realize the intel core i7 920, in general, is better than the 860, and the price for both are the same, however, purchasing a motherboard that is compatible with the LGA 1366 socket is also more expensive. In terms of cost efficiency, performance, and future upgrading in mind, would you suggest purchasing the intel core i7 920 or 860?

I was hoping to spend between $1,100-$1,300.

-Intel Core i7 860 processor 2.80 GHz, LGA 1156 $279.99

-MSI P55-GD65 Motherboard $149.99

-Corsair PC12800 RAM- 4 GB, DDR3, 1600 MHz, Dual Channel (2x2GB) (Qnty 2) $104.99 (x2)

-Western Digital WD1001FALS Caviar Black Hard Drive 1 TB, 7,200 RPMs $94.99

-Lite-O IHAS424-98 Internal DVD Writer DVD +R 24x, etc. (SATA) $34.99

-BFG Tech GeoForce 9800 GTX 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0x16 $139.99

-Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower Black Case ATX compatible $139.99

-Corsair TX750W 750 Watt Power Supply ATX, 140 mm Fan, SLI Ready, SATA Ready $104.99

Total Cost- $1,155