Computer does not have full power

GLC

all of a sudden my computer did not kick on and recorde a tv show. i tried to start it and it seemed not to have enough power. fans were tuning slow nothing showing up on monitor. I turned it off and unplugged the two dvd recorders. computer started i plug one back in and it started. thought the one dvd player was bad, but i put it in resume and the next time it was to turn on it did not. i tried to turn it on and the same thing happend run slowly. turned it off and the when i turned it on it started. But it happened agian the next time i tried to turn it on. please help i am new to buildilng computers this was my first. it is about 5 years old and never had a problem thank you for your help Also today it has started when i try to start it it runs real slow for a few seconds and then shuts off. wait a few seconds try again and it may run. then all of a sudden it will quit.

What are the components and power supply? Over time PSU's lose some ability to output what they did new. They can also just die. Unplugging DVD drives isn't going to give you very much additional power because they only use a couple watts on startup.

It would be useful to know your hardware configuration, as well as installed software, and your internet connection.

I asked him for his components and PSU. His description of what is happening seems like the problems are happening well before the OS begins to load, so software isn't likely to be the problem. What does his internet connection have to do with this?

Thank You SNGX1275

My power supply is a ocz 600w cpu - amd athlon 64 x2 dual-core graphics card- geforce 8600 gt motherboard- asus m2n-sli deluxe win-tv pvr media center kit