TechSpot

Computer freezes up, seemingly randomly

By pyromaster114
Nov 30, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Okay, so I have this computer, and it NEVER crashes. It'll have a few problems here and there, but it never just completely locks up.

    Just this past week, its been crashing. And I don't mean, explorer.exe doesn't respond and crashes. Everything locks up, keyboard and mouse are both completely ignored. The image on the screen freezes like its a static image.
    Nothing works.

    I shut it down via holding the power button down, which kills the power. When I restart it, everything is fine until the next crash.
    The crash isn't temperature related, cause its not ever been very hot when it does this. I checked the Event logs upon restart, and found 2 errors.


    Log Name: Application
    Source: VzCdbSvc
    Date: 11/30/2008 7:41:20 PM
    Event ID: 7
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Chii
    Description:
    Failed to load the plug-in module. (GUID = {56F9312C-C989-4E04-8C23-299DEE3A36F5})(Error code = 0x80042019)
    Event Xml:

    and

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-SharedAccess_NAT
    Date: 11/30/2008 7:43:12 PM
    Event ID: 30013
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Chii
    Description:
    The DHCP allocator has disabled itself on IP address 192.168.1.105, since the IP address is outside the 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 scope from which addresses are being allocated to DHCP clients. To enable the DHCP allocator on this IP address, change the scope to include the IP address, or change the IP address to fall within the scope.

    I've had another computer have a very similar problem to this. It turned out to be a video card driver error. With that one though, I had just changed the video card driver. This one, I didn't change anything. It just started doing this the past couple of days. Within the last week I'd say.
  2. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    We'll start on the conservative side:

    Event ID#7, Source: vzcdbsvc
    Reboot> Ignore and close nag message after checking 'don't show this message again'. Stay in Selective Startup

    Event ID#30013, Source: Microsoft-Windows-SharedAccess_NAT,
    Let me know what the status is after doing these. Thank you for using the Event Viewer.





    Reset Router IP address 192.168.1.105 to 192.168.0.1


    Remote Access Auto-Conntection Manager- Manual

    Reset Router IP address 192.168.1.105 to 192.168.0.1
  3. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    I got rid of vzcdbsvc completely.

    The router's IP address isn't set to 192.168.1.105... it's set to the default linksys thing of 192.168.1.1. I don't think that the router having a different IP address would crash the whole computer anyways, would it?

    In any case, The computer is still crashing...
  4. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Something is pulling up this IP.
  5. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    Well, the router IP address is 192.168.1.1...
    and the computer's IP address is assigned by the DHCP on the router, to 192.168.1.1xx. It is possible that the computer's IP address is 192.168.1.105... but its saying that the router's IP is set to that, correct?

    The error doesn't make any sense in any case, cause nothing 192.168.1.105 wouldn't be out of range for anything on my network, and 192.168.0.1 WOULD be out of range.

    I'll of course re-check the network settings, as something may have gotten changed in the past.
  6. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    I re-checked the network settings...
    The computer's IP IS 192.168.1.105... though that's perfectly in the range of the router.
    I did ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew, but it gives it the same IP address.
    I could force it, but that'd be a problem whenever i connect it somewhere else, I'd have to reset the thing to automatic from manual.
    I don't think that (logically) the network adapter should be able to crash the entire system. Lock it up for a moment, crash explorer.exe even, but not just the whole system, screen blank, nothingness. (Could be wrong though, it IS windows.)

    I'm honestly just thinking of reloading the operating system. It might end up being faster than trying to figure out what the hell is wrong with this thing.

    EDIT:
    There appears to be another error, well, a warning rather, here's what it says:
    Log Name: Application
    Source: SQLBrowser
    Date: 12/2/2008 6:07:27 PM
    Event ID: 3
    Task Category: None
    Level: Warning
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Chii
    Description:
    The configuration of the AdminConnection\TCP protocol in the SQL instance MSSMLBIZ is not valid.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="SQLBrowser" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49230">3</EventID>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-12-03T00:07:27.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>286246</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Chii</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>AdminConnection\TCP</Data>
    <Data>MSSMLBIZ</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    And yet another error, in the system category though:
    Log Name: System
    Source: EventLog
    Date: 12/2/2008 6:07:20 PM
    Event ID: 6008
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Chii
    Description:
    The previous system shutdown at 3:55:34 PM on 12/2/2008 was unexpected.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="EventLog" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="32768">6008</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-12-03T00:07:20.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>113917</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Chii</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>3:55:34 PM</Data>
    <Data>12/2/2008</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>13974</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Binary>D8070C00020002000F0037002200EC00D8070C0002000200150037002200EC00600900003C000000010000006009000000000000B00400000100000000000000</Binary>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
    What's interresting about that one, is that it apparently tells me when something crashed while I was out.
    It says at 3:55 or whatever, there was a crash, or a system shutdown. I look back, and it appears that the logs actually say something about a system shutdown, services start entering the 'stopped' state, and then the log entries stop, until around 6:05 i came home and killed the power, and rebooted it.
    That means, at least to me, that something that isn't in the log is causing the crash.
  7. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    I reloaded the entire OS, from scratch, created an image of the hard disk drive using Acronis' boot cd utility, and confirmed that in that configuration, it didn't crash.
    I restored my backed up data, and a day later, it crashes again.

    This would lead me to believe that something I did caused it to crash again.
    So I restored the image. Left it for 2 hours, and it crashed.
    This doesn't make sense, because previously in that configuration, the thing didn't crash.
    I'll be trying to restore it from the factory recovery partition this time, test that, and see how it goes.
    If anyone has any ideas on what it could be, please let me know.

    I think it might be a video driver problem, having to do with a recent update to vista or something like that. Does anyone know of any good alternative drivers for Nvidia cards?
  8. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    Found a new error today.
    Though I have no clue what the heck it means.
    Here it is:

    Log Name: System
    Source: Service Control Manager
    Date: 12/18/2008 9:38:03 PM
    Event ID: 7000
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Chii
    Description:
    The Parallel port driver service failed to start due to the following error:
    The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Service Control Manager" Guid="{555908D1-A6D7-4695-8E1E-26931D2012F4}" EventSourceName="Service Control Manager" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49152">7000</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-12-19T03:38:03.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>22148</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Chii</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="param1">Parallel port driver</Data>
    <Data Name="param2">%%1058</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    Anyone got a clue what this means?
    I mean, what parallel port is it talking about? I'm not using a printer or anything, or a USB device even that could register as a parallel port...
    Although I'm certain there are other things that register as a parallel port, like maybe a VGA monitor, or something inside the system. Anyone have an idea what it's referring to when it says "Parallel port"?
  9. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    This needs to be clarified: your specs show Windows XP Pro but I just noticed this in Post #7:
    SO: we need to get on the same page. You have just reloaded the OS and it is Vista, is that correct? Please give me the specs for the Vista machine.

    Please see this regarding the Parallel Port Error:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/935497

    Please let me know jut what problems you are now encountering on the computer. This thread has gotten old and it appears that nothing has been resolved. This could be partly due to having the wrong information about the system.
  10. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    Sony Vaio VGN-FZ290 (Got it in Nov. 2007 direct from Sony)
    2.2GHz Intel Centrino Duo
    800MHz FSB
    2GB RAM
    160GB HDD (I remember something about it being a hybrid drive, having some flash memory... don't know if that's relevant.)
    Windows Vista Ultimate

    The system usually has an external monitor attached to it, a Samsung Syncmaster 906cw.

    EDIT:
    I disabled the parallel port driver service thing, so we'll see what happens.
    I doubt it will do much, on account of I don't know how a parallel port driver could crash the whole machine, although this is windows, so who knows.
  11. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Okay, If the Vista system replaced the one in your specs, please update.

    Hopefully you saw this statement on the site I left re parallel port:
    It would be best if you stop reloading Windows whenever you have a problem. That is a last resort, not a first. It is much better to troubleshoot the problem and try to resolve it.
     
  12. pyromaster114

    pyromaster114 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 395

    I don't usually reload windows whenever I have a problem, but when something ends up looking like a possible hardware problem (ie RAM in this case...), and I can't resolve it within a week, I usually try and do a clean install, and see if the problem is still there. Remarkably, 99% of problems I have ever had are resolved by this method. Viruses go away, so do errors that i may have caused in the registry by messing with it, etc. But trust me, I don't enjoy reloading my OS and having to re-configure everything, it IS a last resort.
  13. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    I will close this thread now. since you have reloaded the OS, everything previously done has been undone. If you still require assistance, please start a new thread, with the specific problem you are having now.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.