TechSpot

Computer just powers down and restarts by itselt

By vmundy2
Apr 13, 2008
  1. I would like some help with this If anyone know. I have been trying to play games on this emachine. t2825. and after a while it will just click off power and reboot. I have tryed to contact emachine and they say to download the latest driver from ati. but that is not it. HELP. I dont know who else to turn too so I did a search and found this place.


    thanks
    victoria
     
  2. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Hmmm this is kinda a rare thing but first of all can you give me the specs of the machine?

    Have you ever upgraded it?

    Try downloading speedfan to monitor the temperatures of your CPU.

    Some computers restart when the temperature hits a specific amount in order to protect it from overheating.
     
  3. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    where do i find the specs????

    I know that it is 2800+ 120gb 512mb. my son owned it before he gave it to me and he may have upgraded as he would play alot of online games on this machine.
     
  4. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

  5. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    specs

    i attached the txt. let me know if i did that right.

    thanks
     
  6. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Temperature sensor 0 68°C (154°F) [0x44] (TMPIN0)
    Temperature sensor 1 51°C (123°F) [0x33] (TMPIN1)
    Temperature sensor 2 55°C (130°F) [0x37] (TMPIN2)
    Fan sensor 0 16 RPM [0x2A2A] (FANIN0)

    Those are some pretty high temps... But it doesn't specify what they are from.

    Can you download speed fan and write down wich speeds it detects on it? Also, tell me how many fans the computer has and what is the RPM. It says all that in speedfan.

    Download speedfan from here:

    http://www.almico.com/speedfan433.exe
     
  7. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    i did download it and it is running where do i find the speed ? sorry to seem so stupid but i have been trying to fix this thing forever
     
  8. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    when you start the program, on the main page it says the temperatures there and on the left side it says Fan 1 Fan 2 Fan 3 Fan 4 and the RPM next to it. Tell me how many RPM's it says.
     
  9. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    rpm's

    it shows fan 1 at 4018 rpm
     
  10. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Only 1 fan right? The others are 0 right?
     
  11. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    fan2 0 rpm and fan 3 0
     
     
  12. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    yes they are both at 0
     
  13. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Can you open the case of the computer and tell me if there is just one fan inside? Like only the CPU fan or is there any case fans?

    Oh i forgot, before you do that, what are the temps. It says the temps in speedfan on the main page on the right. Tell me all of them please.
     
  14. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    temp 1 69c
    temp 2 51c
    temp 3 62c but it goes up and down
     
  15. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Whoa?? Is Temp 1 the CPU??
     
  16. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    how do i tell if temp 1 is the cpu or not?
     
  17. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    another one is hd0 it is at 41c what is that? it has a green checkmark
     
  18. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    It says there:

    CPU:
    Ambient:
    Remote:
    Temp1:
    Core:

    What is the CPU temperature and the Core temperature?
     
  19. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    on readings it just says left to right fan1 4018 and on right side temp 1 68c
    fan 2 0 " temp 2 51c
    fan 3 temp 3 64 c
    hd0 40c

    I dont see any ambient , remote, or core anywhere on this speedfan
     
  20. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Hmmm i see it depends on the mobo i think... But anyways those temps at idle are VERY high if the first is CPU then it restarts because it overheats.
     
  21. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    is there anything I can do for that?
     
  22. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Well i'm not really such a cooling expert but you could try to clean out the dust from your computer, take off the CPU fan and re apply the thermal paste, keep your case open, etc.
     
  23. vmundy2

    vmundy2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    i will try that . with that speedfan program can i change anything on that to cool it down. I also would like to thank you so much. you have really helped me to better understand this ...

    yours truly
    victoria
     
  24. X1950XT

    X1950XT TS Rookie Posts: 81

    No problem, I'm afraid not as powerfan is only to monitor temperatures. You could install more case fans if you have a place to put them. Good luck
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.