Computer making beeps and not starting up

Zerthelias

Hi, I'm fairly new to this forum. Recently my computer started to have trouble starting up. When I press the start button, the computer power button flashes and I get 3 beeps. 1 long and two short. I looked into a thread on this forum. I cannot post the link to the thread because my post could is not greater than 5. It says that I have "Failure in video system- An error was encountered in the video BIOS ROM, or a horizontal retrace failure has been encountered."

I'm not very experienced in computers but I know enough to get around. So what does this mean? Also I can sometimes get access to the computer. Once in a while, the computer boots up.

All help is appreciated.

What you are experiencing is a BIOS Beep Code and depending on what the issue is will determine the pattern and the length of the beeps.

Basically it is pointing to where your issue is and it appears your video card is the probable cause of your troubles. Do you have a friend who has some tech knowledge and who can let you borrow another video card to temporarily install in your system?

Warning beeps --graphic card prob?

If you can use the PC normally sometimes, but sometimes you get the 'beeps', 1 long 2 short, that seems to suggest the edge connection of the graphic card to the main board is not making good contact. (but sometimes is).
You could, 1) Unplug the mains power. Remove the graphic card. Have a close look along both sides of the gold connector, don't touch it with fingers. If you can see any dark areas or anything that isn't shiny gold, give it a go with a pencil eraser. Make sure there are no bits left on there and put it back in PC. Plug it in a few times over. Try it.

2) If your PC has the blue type of plug for the monitor lead, connecting to your graphic card, can you see another similar socket nearer to the keyboard and mouse sockets?