TechSpot

Computer restarting help

By AmazingBanana
Mar 13, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. Hello, I am new to the forums, and would love to get some help from you all.

So recently, my computer has been restarting itself, and I have no idea why. I have recently downloaded a game, Borderlands, from Steam, and have been playing it. The restarts started when I started playing. I've run multiple virus scans, preformed system restores, and nothing has seemed to work. I've even given my game access to my antivirus, and I've taken the computer apart and cleaned it. Any help on why it is doing this and what I can do to fix it would be much appreciated.

2. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

Can you post your computer's specs, things like make and model? Go here and learn how to do some basic checks on the memory and hard drive. If you have any minidumps, you can learn how to post those too:
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/menu46.html

3. AmazingBanana

AmazingBanana TS Rookie Topic Starter

Processor: Intel(R) Core (TM) i7-2600 CPU @3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
    RAM: 8 GB
    System type: 64-bit
    Model: h8-1124

Do you need any other information?

4. Tmagic650

"I've run multiple virus scans, preformed system restores, and nothing has seemed to work"...

You have a hardware issue, but without posting the results of the memory and hard drive tests, it is harder to begin... What type of video card do you have installed. ow many watts is your power supply (make and model number)?

5. AmazingBanana

It looks like it's a 300W power supply, model number PS-6301-4. The video card is HD Radeon 6570. On a related note, my computer just gave me a message saying that my .Net Framework was experiencing and error, and I needed to download an update, except when I go to update it, it says I must use turn windows feature on or off in the control panel. Where do I go from here?

6. AmazingBanana