TechSpot

Computer Restarts ALONE: FREEZES *HELP*

By JD2003
Mar 22, 2006
  1. HELP: Computer Restarts ALONE: FREEZES *HELP*

    Hi,

    Well, I have a computer that has been giving me some small problems... The PC works fine but only while I am using it. If I leave it on by itself for about 15 minutes, sometimes more, sometimes less... it freezes and I have to click the reset button to restart! I don't know why it's doing this.

    Another problem is, sometimes I can be doing anything on the PC and the screen turns black and restarts on its own for no reason.. well, there's is one but that's why Im posting this.. :) I believe the problem has to be related to the freezing but I don't know what! .. Can it be the HDD, OS, or is it Power Failure? Please help!

    Thanks in advance,
    JD2003

    Specs:

    [939-pin] AMD® Athlon-64 X2 3800+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology

    Asus A8N5X nForce4 Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0 PCI-E Motherboard

    Memory 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200

    [PCI-Express 16x] Nvidia Geforce 6200 with TurboCache Supporting 256MB w/DVI + TV Out Video

    200 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 8M Cache]

    With 450w power supply..

    [​IMG]

    I click on "CLICK HERE" to see more details and this pops up:

    [​IMG]
    I click on

    Edit:

    After the PC shuts off and turns on itself, when Windows loads this comes up:
     
  2. sw123

    sw123 TS Rookie Posts: 595

    I think you are overclocking your hardware. If your not, your hardware may be defective. 9c means hardware failure, such as processor, RAM, or hard drive(although i dont think its possible to overclock a harddrive, im just pointing out that it is critical hardware) Try turning overclocking off, even if you never enabled that, some viruses/bugs and other nasties can change those settings(mine does that all the time)
     
  3. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Hi sw123.

    JD2003 has another thread running for this problem.

    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic46661.html

    JD2003. Please don`t post multiple threads for the same problem. Thanks.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  4. JD2003

    JD2003 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Sorry, I didn't know what thread was it more appropriate on..
     
  5. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Ok. No worries.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  6. Rhodes132

    Rhodes132 TS Rookie Posts: 26

    I believe it is you power supply. I am having the same exact problem as you right now and have checked with a couple people and they say my power supply is somewhat bad ( good enough to start my computer, bad enough to randomly shut down and give errors such as yours ). I will be getting a new PSU in a week or so and i will tell you if it fixes it for me =)
     
  7. Rhodes132

    Rhodes132 TS Rookie Posts: 26

    Sad to say but my power supply did not fix this. One of my memory sticks went bad and took it out and computer is running fine (well except for a few different things that are now wrong) but it is not freezing,locking up for me any more so i would advise to check ur memory out...
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...