Computer turns off after around 0.5-1 seconds

Dhakos

I generally keep my computer on all day, so I only have this in the morning, but thats the only time I turn it on, basiclly, its like starting an old car, press on, goes on for around 0.5-1 seconds, then goes off, press on, goes off press on, goes off and so on, however if I do this enough times (literally... sometimes 5minutes of pressing and hoping) it turns on, and works perfectly for the rest of the day.
Its only started doing this within the past week, and I have no idea why it is.

I've tried:
Taking out and putting back in the Mobo battery (after waiting 30 seconds)
resetting BIOS to factory settings
checked the physical power connections outside and inside the computer, can't see anything abnormal
checked that the power switch isnt sticking in

I'm not very experienced with computer hardware, and simply trying another PSU isnt an option really :S so are there any obvious things I'm missing?
Thanks for any help :)

Ps. my next idea I'll try tomorrow, I've set in my BIOS to be able to boot from PS/2 mouse or keyboard, so I'll try that and see if it can boot ok from them, if so, it means its the powerswitch itself

edit: Power on by PS/2 keyboard or mouse didnt work, they just didnt power it on :(

Try using one RAM module at a time in the appropriate slot, of course, and see it that makes any difference. If you don't have access to other parts like another PSU to test with, you may only get so far in your ability to diagnose this.

Unfortunately the power supply might be the issue. I had something similar happen to me a number of years ago, except after turning on and off repeatedly it shorted out my motherboard and a capacitor in the PSU blew. :(