Computer will not boot up

Status
Not open for further replies.

camuk

Ok guys, so I am not a techie person but really need some help.

We have a 4 year old Advent ( I can hear the groans already) 3518 which has 3.2ghz, Pent. 4, 1024mb DDR (2 separate drives), 320 HDD.

I think the rest is junk you dont need to know.

Grab a drink guys you might need it!

So it all started after we installed the latest version of I tunes, it would not burn songs onto disc, then started to shut down for no reason,

Gave up went on honeymoon and tried again.

Discovered 3 malware on it after downloading AVG 8.5. Unistall I tunes, still having a problem.

Think I know more than I do I start to see that SP3 has caused problems with this type of computer. Have large problems complete rollback uninstall SP3. Hurray

Works for 24 hours and knackered

So I am now left with a computer which boots up goes into what I presume is Dos (black screen) lots of writing says lots of stuff I haven't the foggiest but all the same as before. however will respond when I do F8.

In case you hadn't guessed I should not be allowed within 10ft of a computer so I leave this alone!

I know the computer needs a good clean out so off for compressed gas tomorrow, but concerned there may be a fan problem as this does not seem to kick in the brief 20 seconds it works but have noticed it very warm when it does work!

Any thoughts? Um and extra blond question are all fans the same and I presume just go straight in and work.

Cheers for any answers, sorry its so long winded just dont fancy taking to someone who will look at me and go easy buck!

Just incase I missed anything here is a link with the spec on it,

CPU Intel Pentium 4 3.2 GHz HT
BIOS Phoenix-Award BIOS. Press the Delete key to enter
Motherboard TriGem IT865GE (MS 6743)
Memory 1GB DDR RAM - PC2700
Hard Drive 160 GB Samsung SP1604N - 7200rpm
160 GB Samsung SP1604N - 7200rpm
CD Drive LG GSA-4040B DVD±R/RW/RAM
Lite-On XJ-HD166 16x(48x) DVD-ROM