Connect wireless router to 3801HGV gateway

I just switched ISPs and now have a Pace 3801HGV gateway (TV & internet) which I've connected to a Cisco/Linksys E2000 wireless router. I have the cable plugged into one of the gateway's 4 ports and the other end into the WAN/internet port of the wireless router. I find that I lose the internet access periodically and need to "reboot" my E2000 to restore internet access. Why is this occurring and how can I rectify this? I did not have this problem when I had my cable modem plugged into the E2000. (I want to keep my network setup from the E2000 to my wired and wireless computers so don't want to use the wireless built into the gateway.) I'm relatively new to this so please let me know what settings to make on the gateway, etc. I'm able to access the configuration menu on the gateway but not sure what to change. Thanks very much for any help.

-G

Linksys E2000 wireless router
That's a dual-mode capable device (5ghz/2.4ghz)
and the comments are
  • # Pros:
    Very fast setup. Great 5 GHz throughput. Decent 2.4-GHz throughput. Simple setup great for newbies.
  • #Cons
    Some performance degradation with use. Throughput drops off quickly with distance
  • ## Bottom Line
    This router's best assets are its ease of setup and throughput at the 5 GHz band. It's best for those wanting to cover smaller spaces, however, as its long-distance performance isn't stellar.
Pace 3801HGV
that's a B/G mode device with user controlled RF Power settings
  • HyperG Wireless Functionality
  • 802.11g wireless access point, backwards compatible with 802.11b
  • 10 power settings available through gateway user interface,
    up to 400mW, for both 802.11b and 802.11g, configurable via CMS
  • WEP64, 128, WPA, 802.1x
  • Multi-SSID
With two WiFi devices, they will interfer with each other on the G-Mode which is
common between your devices and the most likely the mode your systems are using.

Here are your choices