TechSpot

Connections Tray "Not Responding" = No Internet and Slow PC

By SongLive
Aug 13, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi !

    Whenever I connect to the internet via my own WiFi router at home, the connection will terminate after 3-7 minutes and the wireless network will turn off automatic.

    If I place the cursor on the wireless icon in the lower right hand tray, the following happens:
    I get no response. If I right click on the icon, nothing happens. If I go to Start, Connect to, and wireless connections, nothing happens. The only way I can restore a functioning connection is to shut down the machine. However, when I try to shut down the machine, a windows box opens indicating an attempt to end the connections tray. If I click end program, the box shuts and shut down proceeds.

    I bought this laptop last week during my trip to China (So I can't return it for warrenty and I'm sure it's software related...)
    It's a HP Pavilion DV2000 / Compaq V3500 with built in Intel Pro Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection.

    I have Windows XP Service Pack 3 installed with the latest new updates.
    I already have done a virus and spyware scan, totally clean.
    I have already updated my drivers to the latest version with DriverMax.
    I have already tried running WinSock to repair damaged sock files.

    I have seen the problem mentioned in other forums, I already googled and tried all given solutions on google, without luck. I'm desperate for help, please help me

    Thanks in advance, I really need help fixing my brand new laptop
     
  2. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    ' I already googled and tried all given solutions on google'

    So I guess you uninstalled the Intel Pro Wireless 3945ABG and removed the drivers from Add/Remove Programs (if they were there)?
     
  3. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Thanks soo much for your reply.

    To be honest: No I didn't but I did updated the drivers to the latest version.

    Okay, so after deleting the drivers, what do I do now ?
     
  4. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    First, make sure you have the support CD with those original drivers OR download them to a folder you make in C:\My Documents\My Downloads called WirelessDrivers.

    Be offline.

    Then, click on Start, Control Panel, Network Connections. Right click on your connection and click disable then click Properties, then Configure, then Drivers and Uninstall.

    Then, click on Start, Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs and look for an entry for Intel Wifi or similar and if there is an entry click Remove.

    Then reboot.

    Then in Device Manager, enable the adapter again and you should get asked for drivers location.
     
  5. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Thanks again for your reply. I did all of the following:

    But after restarting, suddenly my Wireless Connection wasn't disabled anymore and was enabled and said it had found wireless network connections in the area.
    I didn't even install drivers !? (But I did follow all of your steps)..

    I'm now testing the stability...

    I keep you posted, thanks again !
     
  6. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    Yeah - I forgot to say turn off Plug and Play in Services for the restart - so Windows found the drivers itself.

    :)
     
  7. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Update:

    Sadly, it didn't work.
    Same problem, Connections Tray (better said the Wireless Network Connections) Hangs it self up, PC gets slow and no internet :\.

    Should I try again with disabling Plug and Play Services ?
     
  8. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    Look at the Network Connection again and the drivers for the adapter. What is the info on those? Does it match the drivers you downloaded?
     
  9. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Yes, it does match.
    I downloaded drivers for the Intel Pro Wireless 3945ABG Network Adapter and Windows says at network connection that the device is a Intel Pro Wireless 3945ABG Network Adapter......
     
  10. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    Well, you have good drivers and the unit slows down when you connect so I am going to recommend you make a new post in Security and the Web section after following the Preliminary Removal Instructions here:

    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic58138.html

    I realize this is time consuming BUT it is either this or a complete wipe/reinstall.

    [ others may be better able to help - I am not a genius :) ]
     
  11. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Oh boy, that looks like a lot of coffee to be needed...

    Is it really neccessary ? My pc is clean, I'm sure of that. I reinstalled it last week, and only have trusted software on it. Avira Antivius, CCLeaner, Office 2003, Command and Conquer Generals, Adaware 2003, Firefox, Media Player Classic and VSO Image Resizer. That's all installed software as far as I can remember

    If it is really needed, I will perform all actions as described in the post

    Thanks again
     
     
  12. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    Well, on the off chance your NIC (network chip) is BAD you could check voltages when Not connected and when it is fired up using Everest, Computer, Sensor:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html

    When mine failed I got high temps due to the short but never thought to check voltages.
     
  13. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Ouch, one thing which might be important and I forgot to tell:
    The laptop has a sticker with "Windows Vista" on it, however when I bought it brandnew already XP was preinstalled on it (chinese, so I formatted it. It also didn't have a recovery partition back then, if so I would have noticed).
    Because I had no driver cd with it, I needed to download them from the HP site, without luck in the beginning because the laptop was designed for xp.
    Then I found this thread on the official HP Forums:
    http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/questionanswer.do?threadId=1210191
    I installed all drivers mentioned in that thread, thought I were safe.

    But I dug into google again a few minutes ago and found these very interesting topics about my laptop and xp drivers:
    http://en.kioskea.net/forum/affich-16795-install-xp-on-hp-dv2000-serie-s-easy-easy

    http://hapapism.blogspot.com/2008/05/windows-xp-drivers-for-hp-pavilion.html

    I think I start following the first link and see if that fixes my problems, is that a good idea ?

    Oh, the closest XP drivers for my model I could found on the official HP site on 1 page are these:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=228&lc=en&cc=au&dlc=en&product=1817074

    Thanks
     
  14. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

  15. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    I can't find any stickers on my notebook's casing which indicate the exact model number, only HP Pavilion DV2000.
    So I went into the bios and found my product number:
    GC251PA#UUF
    This typed into the website of HP gave me the following download site:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...n&submit.y=5&submit.x=6&lang=en&cc=sg&y=0&x=0
    Appearntly, there are no XP drivers my laptop.

    No other option than installing Vista, right ?

    Thanks
     
  16. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

  17. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Some are indeed there.
    Wireless Assistent only says if your Wireless and Bluetooth are turned off or on, that's pretty much it.. Very useless tool.
     
  18. CCT

    CCT TS Evangelist Posts: 3,556

    What you CAN do is research other models in that series and if ANY share the =same motherboard chipset, then try their XP drivers.

    If none do, then Hasta la Vista, baby!

    (little joke)
     
  19. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

  20. shutout2730

    shutout2730 TS Rookie

    STOP! Don't reformat. It won't help.

    I came across this thread while researching my own problem. I recently purchased two identical Dell Latitude D630s with the same Wireless Adapter (Intel Pro Wireless 3945ABG). BOTH machines demonstrated the exact same behavior right out of the box. The only difference is that my problem was less predictable. Usually, it happened about twice a day. But sometimes it could happen three times in 10 minutes.

    I had intended to repartition my HD anyway, so I immediately reformatted both machines. The problem persisted. I uninstalled the wireless drivers and put in the new ones from Intel. Still no luck. I have not yet found a solution, but I would advise against a reformat, since my problem survived it.

    Question: Are you using the Intel Proset Wireless Software? Or are you using Windows XP to manage your wireless connection? I'm using XP. Perhaps the problem is Window's tool trying to interact with the Intel driver.
     
  21. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Too late, I just reformatted however I can't get windows vista to install.
    I get a stupid 0x80300001 error which I can't be able to solve at all ways I tried (Partition Magic etc).

    Anyway, I was using Windows XP Wireless Zero Service to manage my wireless connection...
    What where you using ? Intel's software or the built in one ?

    Thnx
     
  22. shutout2730

    shutout2730 TS Rookie

    I'm using the built in one.

    And the more I think about it, the more I think that could be the problem. If XP's tool is relying on a driver feature that Intel doesn't support, that could hang the connections tray. . . just speculation. -_-

    As for your Vista install. . .I've come across threads where users with Vista encountered the same problem. (I'm trying to find an example to post.)
     
  23. shutout2730

    shutout2730 TS Rookie

    I just tried this. . .seems to be on point, and explains the "randomness". If you can recover that computer, it might be worth a try.

    support.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/sb/cs-006205.htm

    I'll keep you posted on how it works for me. But since I haven't had any trouble yet today so it will be tough to gauge.
     
  24. SongLive

    SongLive TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 38

    Thanks for your reply.
    Vista is giving me headaches. I can partition the drive with the built in tool in the Visita Setup, I can format it, split it etc but It wont just install Vista on it, very frustrating if you ask me.

    If I cant get vista to work by tommorrow I will reinstall XP again and download + install the Intel tool to see if that fixes the problem.

    Very annoying if you ask me just to get WiFi to work.

    Thanks again for your replies, really appriciate it and I hope we can both sort this problem out forever !
     
  25. shutout2730

    shutout2730 TS Rookie

    No problem. I agree this is absurd.

    You may not need the Intel utility. That article I linked to in my last post has worked for me so far. No dropouts all day.

    Regarding your Vista install problem, I'd suggest using a Linux installation disk (such as OpenSuse) to repartition your hard drive. Then cancel the Linux install and start over with Vista. Or XP. . . whatever you want. And make sure your data/OS are on different partitions so you can easily change your mind later.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.