Continuous Hungapp Issues (3 Logs Attached)

By Route44
Mar 2, 2010
  1. I have been experiencing the hungapp issue for some time now but lately it has been getting worse to the point that even when offline and I run an application like Malwarebytes my system "hangs"/freezes.

    I am running IE7 with no add-ons and at first it seemed to help for a few hours but even with it running in this configuration the freezing, etc. continues. When online it will often freeze when attempting to open additional windows.

    * Antivirus found no infections.

    * I didn't realize I had so many old JAVA updates still installed. In researching hungapp old Java updates still installed have been known to be a cause of this issue. All previous updates are uninstalled and I am running the latest #18 only.

    * In addition I ran Rootkit Revealer from Sysinternals and this is what it found:

    HKU\S-1-5-21-776561741-362288127-839522115-1003\Software\SecuROM\!CAUTION! NEVER DELETE OR CHANGE ANY KEY* 2/19/2008 8:11 PM 0 bytes Key name contains embedded nulls (*)

    HKU\S-1-5-21-776561741-362288127-839522115-1003\Software\SecuROM\License information* 2/10/2010 2:40 PM 0 bytes Key name contains embedded nulls (*)

    HKLM\SECURITY\Policy\Secrets\SAC* 5/2/2006 10:21 PM 0 bytes Key name contains embedded nulls (*)

    HKLM\SECURITY\Policy\Secrets\SAI* 5/2/2006 10:21 PM 0 bytes Key name contains embedded nulls (*)

    Thanks for looking into this. I am wondering if SecuROM is the culprit here because it is well known to cause various issues. The game it came with has been uninstalled for over a month.

    Thanks for looking into this; much appreciated.

    -- Rout44

    Attached Files:

  2. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,805   +343

    Please download ComboFix from Here or Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: In the event you already have Combofix, this is a new version that I need you to download. It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop**
    1. Please, never rename Combofix unless instructed.
    2. Close any open browsers.
    3. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.
      • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results".
      • Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
      NOTE1. If Combofix asks you to install Recovery Console, please allow it.
      NOTE 2. If Combofix asks you to update the program, always do so.
      • Close any open browsers.
      • WARNING: Combofix will disconnect your machine from the Internet as soon as it starts
      • Please do not attempt to re-connect your machine back to the Internet until Combofix has completely finished.
      • If there is no internet connection after running Combofix, then restart your computer to restore back your connection.
    4. Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.
    5. When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    6. Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" along with a new HijackThis log for further review.
    **Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall**

    Make sure, you re-enable your security programs, when you're done with Combofix.

    DO NOT make any other changes to your computer (like installing programs, using other cleaning tools, etc.), until it's officially declared clean!!!
  3. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 11,966   +70

    I followed the directions to the letter and here is the new Hijack log plus Combofix. I am not sure about the latter because after Combofix rebooted Windows said something about not permitted to access but it went so quick that I couldn't follow it and then loaded my desktop icons plus all securiy software automatically reengaged.

    Attached Files:

  4. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,805   +343

    Combofix log is basically empty.

    Rename combofix.exe to and before you try to run it again...

    Please download and run the below tool named Rkill (courtesy of which may help allow other programs to run.

    There are 4 different versions. If one of them won't run then download and try to run the other one.

    Vista and Win7 users need to right click Rkill and choose Run as Administrator

    You only need to get one of these to run, not all of them. You may get warnings from your antivirus about this tool, ignore them or shutdown your antivirus.

    * Rkill.scr
    * Rkill.pif
    * Rkill.exe

    * Double-click on the Rkill desktop icon to run the tool.
    * If using Vista or Windows 7 right-click on it and choose Run As Administrator.
    * A black DOS box will briefly flash and then disappear. This is normal and indicates the tool ran successfully.
    * If not, delete the file, then download and use the one provided in Link 2.
    * If it does not work, repeat the process and attempt to use one of the remaining links until the tool runs.
    * Do not reboot until instructed.
    * If the tool does not run from any of the links provided, please let me know.

    Once you've gotten one of them to run then try to immediately run Combo.
  5. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 11,966   +70 worked but I must have not changed the Combofix.exe to like I thought I had because the same results happened again.

    It goes through all the stages fine but when the system reboots nothing is saved except what was before.

    Since I didn't find the proper .exe to change it to .com what am I looking for and where? I found the Combofix file.
  6. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,805   +343

    Combofix, which is on your desktop is combofix.exe file.
    Right click on it and click "Rename". Rename it to
    If it still doesn't work, try to run it from Safe Mode.
    If it's still nothing, let me know and we'll try something else.
  7. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 11,966   +70

    Well DUH! to me. I thought of doing that but I said to myself, naah, that's too simple.

    I'm the one too simple. Thanks.
  8. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,805   +343

  9. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 11,966   +70

    Took a break and it looks like I am going to have to do the Safe Mode suggestion because even after I changed it to .com and it went through all stages and rebooted, nothing was saved any differently except for what I first posted.
  10. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,805   +343

  11. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,156   +598

    all those BWPlugProtocol ActiveX entries are bogus!
  12. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 11,966   +70

    Finally, here it is Broni. It took me going into Safe Mode but I had to first disable my security software in normal. Also included is the latest Hijack log after ComboFix.

    jobeard, Is this referring to the Logitech Desktop Manager? By bogus are you saying it isn't really Logitech or it is absolutely an uneccessary software by Logitech (which would mean that there is really no difference).

    Attached Files:

  13. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,805   +343

    Don't worry about them. They're not important now.

    Combo log looks good :)

    Uninstall Combofix:
    Go Start > Run [Vista users, go Start>"Start search"]
    Type in:
    Combofix /Uninstall
    Note the space between the "Combofix" and the "/Uninstall"
    Click OK (Vista users - press Enter).
    Restart computer.


    1. Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
    Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
    Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
    TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.

    2. Go to Kaspersky website and perform an online antivirus scan.

    1. Disable your active antivirus program.
    2. Read through the requirements and privacy statement and click on Accept button.
    3. It will start downloading and installing the scanner and virus definitions. You will be prompted to install an application from Kaspersky. Click Run.
    4. When the downloads have finished, click on Settings.
    5. Make sure these boxes are checked (ticked). If they are not, please tick them and click on the Save button:

    • Spyware, Adware, Dialers, and other potentially dangerous programs
      [*] Archives
      [*] Mail databases
    6. Click on My Computer under Scan.
    7. Once the scan is complete, it will display the results. Click on View Scan Report.
    8. You will see a list of infected items there. Click on Save Report As....
    9. Save this report to a convenient place. Change the Files of type to Text file (.txt) before clicking on the Save button. Then post it here.

    Post fresh HijackThis log as well.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...