TechSpot

Crap I actually Screwed Up. Trojan horse... crap.

By Kaorichan2002
Oct 17, 2006
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I got a virus... Yay! More like a trojan... I cant figure out/understand how to kill it or fix it or understand AVG.
    Its Trojan Horse Generic.zyo
    -.- pitty me. my compy is gonna die!!!!
     
  2. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19

    Go and read the Trojan Pakes and other nasties preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

    Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs as an attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.


    Regards Howard :)


    This thread is for the use of Kaorichan2002 only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  3. Kaorichan2002

    Kaorichan2002 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 89

    Its been a while. Whats AVG spyware thingy...?
    Yea... I been running this junker... i got an upgrade from my friend... :D
    I have 512.

    Oh... and um... Its already in the virus vault.
     
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19

    AVG Antispyware is what used to be called Ewido.

    You might want to copy and paste these instructions into a notepad file. Then you can have the file open in safe mode, so you can follow the instructions easier.

    Turn off system restore.(XP/ME only) See how here.> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial56.html

    Boot into safe mode, under your normal user name(NOT THE ADMINISTRATOR ACCOUNT). See how here.> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial61.html

    In Windows Explorer, turn on "Show all files and folders, including hidden and system". See how here.> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial62.html

    Go to add remove programmes in your control panel and uninstall anything to do with(if there).

    GCN

    Close control panel.

    Open your task manager, by holding down the ctrl and alt keys and pressing the delete key.

    Click on the processes tab and end process for(if there).

    GCN.exe

    Close task manager.

    Run HJT with no other programmes open(except notepad). Click the scan button. Have HJT fix the following, by placing a tick in the little box next to(if there).

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS01?FORM=TOOLBR

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS01?FORM=TOOLBR

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS01?FORM=TOOLBR

    O2 - BHO: AOL Toolbar Launcher - {7C554162-8CB7-45A4-B8F4-8EA1C75885F9} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll

    O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {DE9C389F-3316-41A7-809B-AA305ED9D922} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe

    O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar Search - c:\program files\aol\aol toolbar 2.0\resources\en-US\local\search.html

    O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {3369AF0D-62E9-4bda-8103-B4C75499B578} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll

    Click on the fix checked button.

    Close HJT.

    Locate and delete the following bold files and/or directories(if there).

    C:\Program Files\GCN

    Reboot into normal mode, turn system restore back on and rehide your protected OS files.

    Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs and let me know how your system is running.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of Kaorichan2002 only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  5. Kaorichan2002

    Kaorichan2002 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 89

    Oh... i dont have a safe mode... ^^;
     
  6. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19

    What do you mean by you don`t have a safe mode?

    In anycase, you can do the above from normal mode if you really have to.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  7. Kaorichan2002

    Kaorichan2002 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 89

    I never had a safe mode, i have a system diagnostic mode but its a dos mode... o_o
     
  8. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 25,948   +19

    That`s weird, I`ve not heard of a system that doesn`t have safe mode.

    I suggest you find/read the manual for your system and find out how to get into safe mode.

    As far as I`m aware, there will be a way of doing this.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of Kaorichan2002 only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  9. Kaorichan2002

    Kaorichan2002 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 89

    uh... great... i have to look for that... o_o
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.